Riley Downing – Start It Over


Riley Downing - Start It Over

Riley Downing – Start It Over
Format: CD – Vinyl
Label: New West Records
Release: 2021

Riley Downing (The Deslondes) sat down one day and decided he wanted to record a song or two for a simple 45

The Deslondes had been on a hiatus for a while and Downing had the creative itch to put something down on record. He had been in contact with his bandmate, John James Tourville, and they decided to work on a split 7” with a friend.

The recording session felt like a breath of fresh air and the communion of talented musicians produced more songs than expected. Downing left the session energized and continued to record and trade demo’s with Tourville.

Downing and Tourville decided that there were enough ideas to make an album. There were not going to be any rules and nothing would be discarded. All notes and lyrics would be considered.

‘Start It Over’ is the result of that creative effort. An album where each song was crafted with a different idea in mind. Some of the songs are more nostalgic than others and some were just written for good ol’ fashion fun.

There is a romantic quality in each song. One song might help someone get through a hard time while one song might contribute to a good time. One song might bring up memories of a better time or just get you far enough down the road to start over.

01. I’m Not Ready
02. Deep Breath
03. Coleman Rose
04. Good To See Ya
05. Looking Forward
06. Start It Over
07. Never Coming Home
08. Hey! Mister
09. Won’t Somebody Play
10. Doing It Wrong
11. Crazy
12. I’m Right There With You

photo credit: Tamara Grayson

Hits: 1