Willie Nelson – First Rose of Spring
Format: CD
Label: Sony / Legacy
Releasedatum: 24 april 2020

The upcoming record consists of 11 tracks in total, including two written by Willie Nelson in collaboration with friend and frequent producer Buddy Cannon. There are also reinterpretations of songs originally penned by Chris Stapleton (“Our Song”), Toby Keith (“Don’t Let the Old Man In”), and Billy Joe Shaver (“We Are The Cowboys”).

A press statement describes Nelson’s 70th (!) album as “an intimate journey through life and love as seen through Willie’s unique perspective,” adding that it captures the country music legend “deep in every moment, sharing profound insights and experiences through songs he’s written and songs he loves to sing.”

In anticipation of the album’s release, Nelson has shared its title track. Hear it for yourself below.

First Rose of Spring Tracklist:
01. First Rose Of Spring (Randy Houser, Allen Shamblin & Mark Beeson)
02. Blue Star (Willie Nelson & Buddy Cannon)
03. I’ll Break Out Again Tonight (Sanger “Whitey” Shafer & Doodle Owens)
04. Don’t Let The Old Man In (Toby Keith)
05. Just Bummin’ Around (Pete Graves)
06. Our Song (Chris Stapleton)
07. We Are The Cowboys (Billy Joe Shaver)
08. Stealing Home (Marla Cannon-Goodman, Casey Beathard & Don Sampson)
09. I’m The Only Hell My Mama Ever Raised (Wayne Kemp, Bobby Borchers & Mack Vickery)
10. Love Just Laughed (Willie Nelson & Buddy Cannon)
11. Yesterday When I Was Young (Hier Encore) (Charles Aznavour & Herbert Kretzmer)