+Sam Lewis 'Solo' - cover (300dpi)

Sam Lewis – Solo
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Loversity Records
Releasedatum: 7 februari 2020

Sam Lewis has collaborated with everyone from Leon Russell to The Wood Brothers. Chris Stapleton dubbed him “a modern Townes Van Zandt ” . He’s often labelled with some form of the word ‘soulful’ (some have even compared his voice to molasses), and while Lewis’ style meets at a juncture of many different genres, he’s discovered what most musicians spend lifetimes working for; the place where feel-good music meets vital social commentary.

After spending a nomadic youth throughout the Southeast (USA), he began calling Nashville home in 2009. Since then he’s been joined on his journey by some of music’s most righteous and luminary figures. To date he has pressed the first few chapters in his career’s studio anthology with the release of his self-titled debut (2012), sophomore release Waiting On You (2015), and third studio release Loversity (2018), with all receiving critical acclaim.

Waiting On You was co-produced by roots music cornerstone, Oliver Wood (The Wood Brothers, Tedeschi Trucks Band). Combining their savant fluency in the soul music lexicon, Lewis and Wood called upon the instrumental palettes of masters including Mickey Raphael (Willie Nelson, Neil Young), Darrell Scott (Robert Plant, Guy Clark), Will Kimbrough (Jimmy Buffett, Rodney Crowell), Gabe Dixon (Paul McCartney) and the McCrary Sisters (The Fairfield Four), all placing their stamp on this enduring expression of uncompromised songwriting.

01. What Does it Mean* ** *
02. Southern Greek Tragedy
03. Bluesday Night
04. In My Dreams
05. I’m a River
06. Runaway Bride
07. Neighbors* ** *
08. Things Will Never Be the Same
09. Waiting on You
10. Virginia Avenue
11. I’m Coming Home
12. Never Again
13. 3/4 Time
14. The Light* ** *
15. Everything’s Going to Be Different
16. The Only One
17. Talk About It
18. When Come the Morning
19. I Love You* ** *

All songs written by Sam Lewis * ** * Previously unreleased new song

Recorded Live at Southern Ground Studios in Nashville TN on 9/15/2019 Produced by Brandon Bell and Sam Lewis Engineered Mixed by Brandon Bell Mastered by Eric Conn & Don Cobb at Independent Mastering, Nashville TN Cover art by Jack Skivens All songs written by Sam Lewis – SAMMY SINGS SONGS (BMI)

Website: Sam Lewis

03.03 – TivolliVredenburg, Utrecht
04.03 – Café `t Rozenknopje, Eindhoven

+Sam Lewis (2019, #2, photo by Scott Housley)
photo by Scott Housley