Wily Bo Walker & Danny Flam- Ain’t No Man A Good Man
Format: CD – Digital / Label: Mescal Canyon Records
Release: 2020

Tekst: Fons Delemarre

Wily Bo Walker is één van die muzikanten die eigenlijk alles wil: rock, Americana, blues, gospel, soul, Classic R&B, soundtracks en jazz. Liefst allemaal tegelijk. Gelukkige bijkomstigheid is dat hij ook alles kan. Bijna althans, want de frase ”Kill your darlings” staat niet in zijn woordenboek en komt ook niet voor in zijn vocabulaire.

Afgelopen jaren zijn van hem fraaie albums verschenen als ‘Bone Rattlin’ Blues’, twee uitgebreide bluesoverzichten (‘The Wily Bo Walker Story, Vol.I’ en ‘Vol.II’) en een jazzy, New Orleansstyle project onder de titel Moon Over Indigo’.
Tweede helft 2020 staat Some People Kill for Passion (Welcome to VoodooVille)’ in de planning, begin 2021 gevolgd door ‘Tales of the Mescal Canyon Troubadours’, een album met -volgens zijn website- “…tales and drunken fables from the master of story-telling, which sees Wily Bo Walker weave his cinematic stories and revisit songs from his back-catalog, retelling them in a whole new groovalicious, roof liftin’, funkin’ and rockin’ blues style”.

Kort geleden verscheen, als teaser voor het nieuwe album Ain’t No Man A Good Man’, de single St. James Infirmary. Zie daarvoor de recensie elders op deze website. Het nieuwe album is een co-productie met Danny Flam, een van zijn longtime muzikale partners. Op het album wordt groots uitgepakt: er is niet bezuinigd op blazers, background vocals, gitaren en een vette ritmesectie. Walker spaart ook zijn stembanden niet en growlt en grauwt dat het een lieve lust heeft.

Speciale aandacht verdienen een paar van de prachtige albumcovers die Walker heeft laten maken door Zhana D’Arte: naast dit album zijn dat ook Moon Over Indigo’ (2015) en The Roads We Ride’ (2019).

Voor ‘Ain’t No Man A Good Man’ is gekozen voor een ‘voodoo-uitstraling’ zoals die ongetwijfeld ook zal figureren op de soundtrack die hij voor de musical ‘The Rattlin Bone Theatre Show’ gaat maken. Live spelen doet (deed) hij met een akoestische en een elektrische band. Genre: dark Americana, swampy blues.

Tot slot volgt hier de bloemrijke track-voor-track bespreking van de nummers op ‘Ain’t No Man A Good Man’, zoals aangeleverd door Rick J Bowen van Mescal Canyon Records.

01. Ain’t No Man a Good Man
Ain’t No Man A Good Man’ features ten tracks that take listeners on a swinging macabre jazz and blues funhouse ride of thrills and chills. The album opens with the supercharged inspired title track setting the stage for a passion play of furious horn driven theatrical soul music.

02. Fool For You (2020 Hindsight)
Those horns are paramount in the successful rearrangement of the bump and grind blues Fool For You (2020 Hindsight) bulking up the British Power Blues from 2016 into a full wall of sound sonic assault.

03. Did I Forget
Walker takes a page out of the Long John Baldry playbook on the hard swinging 12/8 blues ‘Did I Forget’, confessing his love with a roaring baritone, accented by sharp horn jabs and rambunctious baritone sax from Ron Bertolet.

04. Velvet Windows (Treme Trippin’)
The jagged boogaloo Velvet Windows (Treme Trippin’) finds him playing the role of a man in turmoil with the complications of love.

05. Walking With the Devil (Blood On My Hands)
The confessional continues on the alluring Walking With The Devil (Blood On My Hands), a slow burning blues samba, featuring soaring lead guitar from Mike Ross.

06. Night Of the Hunter
Songwriter E.D. Brayshaw, frequently the guitar playing sidekick of Wily Bo Walker, co-wrote Night Of The Hunter, that first appeared on the 2019 album ‘The Roads We Ride’’, billed as “Wily Bo & EDB’s blues-infused three penny Rock Opera,” that, with the addition of the stirring horn chart, achieves full film noir soundtrack status.

07. Ain’t Hungry No More
Walker packs up the crew for a trip down to the Caribbean to revisit the Voodoo Zombie Blues from the 2014 ‘Rattlin Bone’ collection, Ain’t Hungry No More, rearranging it with a tasty reggae treatment.

08. Time To Forget You
The late night blues Time To Forget You, from Jimmy Dean Brooks was first recorded at Abbey Road Studios in 2010 for a collaboration with Wily Bo and UK vocal sensation Kareña K, while Danny Flam & The New York Brass and Brown Sisters step in to give it classic horn driven R&B pizzazz.

09. St James Infirmary Blues
The final act of the album is a journey ‘de Londres à la New Orléans’ – from London to New Orleans – beginning with a vaudeville romp through the oft recorded standard St James Infirmary Blues, with Wily Bo playing the role of the ringmaster in a swirling three circus spectacular.

10. Build My Gallows (Ain’t No Return)
He then doffs his cap in tribute to British Blues Royalty by evoking the Led Zeppelin aesthetic for the incendiary finale Build My Gallows (Ain’t No Return) casting Troy Redfern to emulate Page’s legendary slide work on the Silvertone, while The Cenovia Cummins String Quartet supplies the Kashmir flavor, referencing the album title in the pleas of a man fated to pay the ultimate price for his forbidden desires.

Once again Wily Bo Walker defies the conventional blues paradigm, engaging in a diabolical collaboration with Danny Flam for ‘Ain’t No Man A Good Man’, creating another fine addition to his over two dozen releases in his illustrious 40-year career.

Website: Wily Bo Walker