Mats Karlsson – Mood Elevator


Mats Karlsson – Mood Elevator

Mats Karlsson – Mood Elevator
Format:CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
label: MK Music
Release: 2023

Release date: June 30, 2023

Swedish guitarist and songwriter Mats Karlsson (220 Volt/The Summit) will release a new solo album called ‘Mood Elevator’ on June 30th

This is the second solo effort from the guitarist, his first being “The Time Optimist” which was released in December 2019 to some great reviews. The latter being a little more laid back than what 220 Volt is known for, and the new album is more of a rock, hardrock, AOR-ish and funkier album.

It features 11 new tracks penned by Mats, and also a cover of Joni Mitchells “Big Yellow Taxi” which is already out as a single. The album was produced and mixed by Mats.

Says Mats – “My previous solo album consisted mostly of material that had been in a drawer for many years, up to 20 years or more actually, but the new album is a mixture of songs I’ve been writing during the last 3-4 years. I grew up being inspired by music from the 60’s 70’s and early 80’s and I appreciate many styles of music as longs as it’s performed well musically and has great vocals. So that’s why I on my solo efforts try and go outside of my normal musical platform (hardrock/melodic metal) and try to write songs that creates room for great musicians. So I pick musicians that I like and that I know will help me get the results I want, people who have the right swing and touch. Whether I succed or not is up to the listeners, you can only do your best”.

Website: Facebook

01. Asteroids
02. Beautiful Life
03. Mood Elevator
04. War Child
05. Keeping Time
06. Big Yellow Taxi
07. Kiss Of Life
08. Letters Without Signatures
09. Higher Than High
10. Magic Wand
11. Try My Love
12. Tipping Poin

Guest muscians appearing on the album includes:
Ferdy Doernberg – Hammond organ (Axel Rudi Pell)
Björn Englen – Bass (Yngwie Malmsteen/Quiet Riot/Soul Sign)
Björn Höglund – Drums (Easy Action/The Summit/Hoven Droven)
Lars Ericcson – Bass (The Summit)
Hanna Einebrant – Vocals (She Rex/Disco Arcade)
Mike Klemmé – Vocals (The Summit/Marmalade Soul)
Ulf Karlsson – Keyboards
Additional backing vocals: Peter Hermansson, Robert Hellström, Göran Nyström