The Space Age Travellers – Satellite Shuffle


The Space Age Travellers - Satellite Shuffle

The Space Age Travellers – Satellite Shuffle
Format: CD Digipack – Digital
Label: Continental Record Services
Release: 2022

Release date: April 1, 2022

Rock & Roll, Surf, Jive and Spaghetti Western instrumentals with a free jazz twist.

The Space Age Travellers play self-penned material by songwriter/ guitarist BJ Baartmans, inspired by the sounds of their guitar heroes springing from the Space Age like Bill Frisell, Richard Thompson, Ry Cooder, Marc Ribot, Brian Setzer or Jeff Beck and their inspirations,too, with the likes of Duane Eddy, Wes Montgomery, Charlie Christian, Django Rheinhardt, Dick Dale, The Shadows, James Burton and Jimmy Bryant.

Extremely dancable grooves, romantic melodies, intriguing soundscapes and craftsmanship with unprecedented velocity and poignancy. Music for lovers and freaks. A sonic voyage through time!

Performed by three soulmates with  rich musical pasts: here’s the story about Satellite Shuffle:  “It’s early Januari 2022 and a lot of things are not happening. Again. Cancelled string of liveshows, postponed album production with a befriended singer songwriter, a not happening diner party here or rescheduled meeting there… the usual I guess you can say after two intense, strange, uncertain yes almost surreal pandemic years.

I spent days watching a ton of YouTube videos about musicians that never fail to inspire me, move me, teach me but now just as easily make me sad. I still love what I hear but also experience that my personal musical journey is blocked. I’m on my own. Even if it’s still there, the beauty in sounds and melodies that guide me, it’s not getting me anywhere. I call my good friend Sjoerd: “What’s up? I’m either going crazy being locked up in this musical cabin fever or shall we get together and make an album?” There’s still a few unexplored song ideas on my iphone, all studio days are wide open and maybe it’ll ignite something new and exciting. There’s also no plan.

It’s all it took. A week or two later we have arranged and tracked 12 brand new songs, having had a blast doing so. We decide they’ll be released sometime soon, no matter what will follow. Just for the sake of the music itself and for the cure it provides for the Coronatimes Blues.

So here’s another instrumental record that we’re very happy to present. It covers a lot of ground, as much emotionally as musically. Is it a jazz-, blues-, surf-, rock- or world music album? Who knows? It takes us places. It’s our music. And yours.


01. Cabin Fever
02. Rundown
03. Monk’s Mood
04. Charlie’s Pick Up
05. Satellite Shuffle
06. Sandology
07. Who Framed Roger Flint
08. The Saturn 3
09. Ferrini’s Trap
10. Rewired
11. Miles Between
12. The Waiting

Gerco Aerts – bas
BJ Baartmans – gitaar
Sjoerd van Bommel – drums