New release: Moonshine Society – Sweet Thing


Moonshine Society - Sweet Thing (Special Edition 2021)

Moonshine Society – Sweet Thing
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Independent
Release: 2021

Release date: November 5, 2021

A brilliant album of original material and tasteful covers

Moonshine Society gives a big nod to Aesop’s theory that we’re known by the company we keep. So, while staking claim to musical territory of their own with a searing, cutting-edge blend of blues, soul, rock and R&B, they continue to rack up powerhouse stripes rubbing elbows with the best. Johnny Winter, Gov’t Mule, Derek Trucks, Susan Tedeschi, Tower of Power, John Mayall, Roomful of Blues, John Mayer count among the legends the band and its members have accompanied and opened for, not to mention other greats as Tab Benoit, George Clinton and Funkadelic and Samantha Fish.

Moonshine Society was formed in two thousand and nine, in the Anacostia Delta.

‘Sweet Thing’ is their second album and still firmly in control on lead vocals is Jenny Langer. Joining her on the album are Joe Poppen (guitar), Todd Ellsworth (bass and percussion), Rodney Dunton (drums and percussion), Wes Lanich and Benjie Porecki (keyboards), Christopher Brown (bass) and Jason Ricci (harmonica).

Also featured are the horn section of Ron Holloway (tenor sax), Vince McCool (trumpet) and Ken Wenzel (baritone sax).

The result of this combination of amazing musicians is a brilliant album of original material and tasteful covers.

Jenny Langer and Joe Poppen were both inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame after their work with Charlie Sayles and Memphis Gold respectively. The band has won multiple Wammie awards, and in 2020 won the International Blues Challenge (IBC) Best Self-Produced CD award.