Mary Chapin Carpenter – The Dirt And The Stars
Format: CD
Label: Thirty Tigers / Lambent Light
Release: 2020

Five-time Grammy-winner Mary Chapin Carpenter’s 15th studio album, ‘The Dirt And The Stars’, finds the singer-songwriter pondering life’s intimate, personal moments and exploring its most universally challenging questions at an unprecedented time.

Written at her rural Virginia farmhouse before stay-at-home orders became the “new normal,” the songs celebrate invaluable experiences and irreplaceable wisdom, while also advocating exploration of the best in all of us. As one of just 15 women voted into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, with over 15 million albums sold, 5 Grammy awards (from 15 nominations) and the recipient of two CMA and ACM awards, Carpenter’s now-classic hits include “I Feel Lucky,” “He Thinks He’ll Keep Her” and “The Hard Way.” Produced by Ethan Johns (Ray LaMontagne, Paul McCartney, Kings of Leon) and recorded at Peter Gabriel’s Real World Studios in Bath, in southwest England, The Dirt And The Stars marks Carpenter’s first collection of all-new material since 2016’s ‘The Things That We Are Made Of’.

01. Farther Along and Further In
02. It’s Ok to Be Sad
03. All Broken Hearts Break Differently
04. Old D-35
05. American Stooge
06. Where the Beauty Is
07. Nocturne
08. Secret Keepers
09. Asking for a Friend
10. Everybody’s Got Something
11. Between the Dirt and the Stars

Website: Mary Chapin Carpenter