Krista Shows – Prone To Wander
Format: CD
Label: Dial Back Sound / Sonic RendezVous
Release: 2020

‘Prone to Wander’ represents the first chapter in Krista Shows’ career, recording the album during the week of her thirtieth birthday and a full moon. “Before the Covid-19 pandemic I worked as a waitress,” she reflects, “It took me 10 months to save the money to record these songs.

photo credits: Bea Aydelette

It was my first time in a real studio and the energy was so natural and relaxed… we had fun, I love that you can hear that on the record.” “A lot of this album is about grief,” says Shows, “It’s about loss and learning. Putting the record out alone is an act of resilience, so it didn’t feel right to wait to release it, despite having to cancel our plans for touring it.
We’re gonna do it anyways.” Adopted from Texas, raised in Mississippi and now living in Marshall, NC, Krista Shows is tied up in a place. A kid who grew up singing church music, her sound comes straight from the gut and is born of her life growing up in the Deep South, a place abounding in two-fold realities.
Living next to the Sunflower River in rural Clarksdale, MS, she began writing songs as a way to process life and feel connected to others.

‘Prone to Wander’ was produced by Stu Cole (Squirrel Nut Zippers) and Bronson Tew and recorded at Dial Back Sound in Water Valley, Mississippi.

It features Scott Sharpe (The Blue Rags) on guitar and pedal steel, Stu Cole on bass and vocals, Bronson Tew on drums and vocals, Eric Carlton on piano and organ, Schaefer Llana on vocals, and Anne Freeman on vocals.

01. For Whom the Bell Tolls
02. Ain’t Your Fault
03. Hell or High Water
04. Glory, Glory
05. It Is Gone
06. Twenty-two
07. Prone to Wander
08. Lanie’s Song
09. Orphan Land
10. Full of Sin

Website: Krista Shows