Justin Johnson – Rough Edges
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Independent
Release: 2020

‘Rough Edges’ (2020) by Justin Johnson combines elements of classic rock, rockabilly, surf guitar, delta blues, and southern rock; serving up the Old School Guitar-Driven Rock & Roll you’ve been starving for!

Moving between Zeppelin-esque lead guitar tones, 50’s rockabilly twang, and deep, dark, and greasy swamp blues riffs, ‘Rough Edges’ will feel like an oasis for those who are craving the raw, honest, analog sounds of vintage rock & roll.

The 11 tracks (46-minute playtime) feature both full-band and stripped-down performances from Justin.  The tracks on ‘Rough Edges’ are well-articulated balance between original instrumental performances, and inspired reimaginings of classics from Hank Williams Sr., Chuck Berry, and Wayne Walker, featuring guest vocalist, Spike Nicer.

01. Down Bound Train
02. Whiskey Barrel Blues
03. All I Can Do Is Cry
04. Avalanche
05. Another Bleary-Eyed Morning

06. Ramblin’ Man
07. Romp In the Swamp
08. Quicksilver
09. Rough Edges
10. Some Parts of Crazy
11. Won’t Blow Away