Håkon Høye – Nights At The Surf Motel
Format: CD – LP
Label: PIAS
Releasedatum: 3 april 2020

“Sounds like a mix of Lightnin’ Hopkins, The Rolling Stones, The Band and Pops Staples”

A dash of Soul, a pinch of Gospel, a spoonful of Blues and a pint of good ol’ Rock ‘N Roll. ‘Nights At The Surf Motel’ is Håkon Høye’s second long player filled with originals penned in collaboration with long time co-writer Bill Troiani (Billy T Band) and two cover-songs (from Curtis Mayfield and Richard Berry).

This’time the focus is on the song – from the bluesy Americana of “Stay Awhile” to thesexy swamp groove of “Time Will Tell”. The music is steeped in classic Blues, Rock and Americana, but the lyrics are contemporary – a noir love affair of anticipation, longing, good times, lost love and turmoil.

The album is recorded at Kitchen Studio in Oslo, Norway, with overdubs at several other locations, one being Christoffer “Kid” Andersen’s famous Greaseland Studio in San Jose, California, where they recorded backup harmonies for a couple of tracks.
On most of the songs the backing is stripped down to the basic guitar (
Håkon Høye), bass (Per Tobro) and drums (Vetle Larsen).

ln addition to his work with Billy T Band, Hakon has been active on the flourishing Norwegian blues scene since the mid 90’s. He has produced Joakim Tinderholt’s albums (“You Gotta Do More” and “Hold on”) and plays guitar in his band.
Håkon did also play on Louisiana Red’s critically acclaimed album ‘Back To The Black Bayou’ which was nominated for two Blues Awards in Memphis in 2010 and he has been touring with and backed up international blues acts like Mitch Kashmar, Jackie Payne, RJ Mischo, Tad Robínson, Kid Ramos, Nappy Brown, Little Victor and Sven Zetterberg.

01. Junkyard Of Dreams
02. Stay Awhile
03. One Floor Down
04. Good Thing
05. You Must Believe Me
06. Sweet Sugar You
07. My Darkest Hour
08. Time WillTell
09. Wastin’Time With You
10. Nights At The Surf Motel