Box set, 2CD and vinyl LP • New Bob Clearmountain remixes

‘Stage Fright’ is reissued on 12 February 2021

Universal Music will early next year reissue The Band‘s third album ‘Stage Fright’ across a number of formats, including a five-disc super deluxe edition.

Issued in August 1970, the ten-track album includes the songs ‘The Shape I’m In’ and ‘Stage Fright’ and was engineered by Todd Rundgren and Glyn Johns.

This 50th anniversary reissue presents a new running order (apparently, the originally planned order) and offers a new Bob Clearmountain stereo remix of the album. Alternate mixes of ‘Strawberry Wine’ and ‘Sleeping’ are issued for the first time and also included are seven unearthed ‘field recordings’. These Calgary Hotel Recordings from 1970 offer a fun and loose, impromptu late night hotel jam session between Robbie Robertson, Rick Danko and Richard Manuel of several Stage Fright songs recorded while the album was in the mixing stage.

A full concert, Live at the Royal Albert HallJune 1971, sees the group captured in the midst of their European tour with all 20 tracks are previously unreleased. This live performance features on the two-CD set as well as the super deluxe edition box set.

As with previous Band box sets Stage Fright includes a blu-ray with a brand new Bob Clearmountain 5.1 surround sound mix, as well as a hi-res stereo mix of the album, bonus tracks and the live show.

The box set also features a 33PRM pressing of the album on vinyl (the 2020 remix), an exclusive reproduction of the Spanish pressing of The Band’s 1971 seven-inch vinyl single for ‘Time To Kill’ (backed with ‘The Shape I’m In’) in their new stereo mixes and a photo booklet with new notes by Robbie Robertson and touring photographer John Scheele, a reprinting of the original Los Angeles Times album review by critic Robert Hilburn; three lithographs and more.

CD 1
01. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
02. The Shape I’m In
03. Daniel And The Sacred Harp
04. Stage Fright
05. The Rumor
06. Time To Kill
07. Just Another Whistle Stop
08. All La Glory
09. Strawberry Wine
10. Sleeping

Bonus Tracks
11. Strawberry Wine (Alternate Mix) *
12. Sleeping (Alternate Mix) *

Calgary Hotel Room Recordings, 1970 *
13. Get Up Jake (#1) *
14. Get Up Jake (#2) *
15. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show *
16. Rockin’ Pneumonia And The Boogie Woogie Flu *
17. Calgary Blues *
18. Before You Accuse Me *
19. Mojo Hannah *

* Previously unreleased

CD 2
Live At Royal Albert Hall, June 1971
(Previously Unreleased)

01. The Shape I’m In
02. Time To Kill
03. The Weight
04. King Harvest (Has Surely Come)
05. Strawberry Wine
06. Rockin’ Chair
07. Look Out Cleveland
08. I Shall Be Released
09. Stage Fright
10. Up On Cripple Creek
11. The W.S. Walcott Medicine Show
12. We Can Talk
13. Loving You Is Sweeter Than Ever
14. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
15. Across the Great Divide
16. The Unfaithful Servant
17. Don’t Do It
18. The Genetic Method
19. Chest Fever
20. Rag Mama Rag