Steve Harley – Uncovered
Format: CD – LP
Label: Eigen Beheer
Releasedatum: 21 februari 2020 (UK)

A very special album from the newly inaugurated Steve Harley Acoustic Band. “Uncovered” includes interpretations of nine painstakingly chosen songs created in many instances by peers and contemporaries of Steve, those with shared histories and some that he admired from afar. These are songs with heft and honesty that have always connected and resonated within him; this is material that he’s always wanted to perform and may even wish he’d written! This diverse collection of Harley’s Interpretations is in some ways an almanac rather than just a set of great tracks: Steve’s links with some of the song-writers go back to the very start of their careers: Bowie in Beckenham; Dylan throughout his early teens; Cat Stevens/Yusuf and Paul McCartney, both massive early influences…

Added into the mix are two songs from Steve’s own incredible catalogue, reworked from the originals: ‘Love, Compared With You’ which now boasts a newly-composed third verse, plus ‘Only You’, played Live for several years, but recorded here for the first time.

The band that performs this collection features Barry Wickens on viola, violin and acoustic guitar, Oli Hayhurst on double bass, Tom Hooper on percussion and the Roots Music Legend, Martin Simpson, on guitar. Steve also sings a duet with the amazing Scottish singer, Eddi Reader. Steve is no stranger to acoustic music, having toured with his Acoustic Trio [as well as the full Cockney Rebel rock band, of course] for years now and receiving a Lifetime Achievement Award for Acoustic Music in 2018.

01. Compared With You (Your Eyes Don’t Seem To Age)
02. Absolute Beginners
03. Ae Fond Kiss
04. Emma
05. How Can I Tell You?
06. I’ve Just Seen A Face
07. Lost Myself
08. Only You
09. Out Of Time
10. Star Of Belle Isle (feat. Eddi Reader)
11. When I Paint My Masterpiece

LP Tracks:
01. Compared With You (Your Eyes Don’t Seem To Age)
02. Ae Fond Kiss
03. Emma
04. How Can I Tell You?
05. Star Of Belle Isle (feat. Eddi Reader)

06. I’ve Just Seen A Face
07. Absolute Beginners
08. Lost Myself
09. Only You

Website: Steve Harley