Seasick Steve – Love & Peace
Format: CD
Label: V2 Records
Releasedatum: 24 juli 2020

Love & Peace’ sees Steve mixing up all of his much-loved ingredients to deliver a fresh new record that offers the perfect antidote for the troubled times in which we live. Full of hope for the future, it’s a great mix of boogie, blues, rock, Americana and folk – all delivered in Seasick Steve’s unique style. It’s a sizzler of an album that he can’t wait to release.

“In these crazy times seems to me there just ain’t enough love and peace to go around,” says Steve. “I ain’t exactly sure what this here record got to do with love and peace, but I figured I’d call it that anyways!”

Produced and written by Seasick Steve, this album sees him breaking with tradition. While some of it was recorded in his barn, the majority was recorded in Los Angeles at Studio 606 and at East West Studio 3 (where The Beach Boys mixed ‘Pet Sounds’). The album was mixed by Vance Powell (Jack White, Chris Stapleton) and Steve at East West.

Steve’s long-term drummer Dan Magnusson (a.k.a. Crazy Dan) is of course featured on the record, along with some amazing contributions from guitarist Luther Dickinson (North Mississippi Allstars) and harmonica player Malcolm Arison (The BossHoss).

Steve adds, “This was recorded on 2” analogue tape, mixed to analogue tape and for the vinyl it was cut from the 1/2” master tape direct to lathe. ‘Old skool’, no computer, hear what I’m sayin’? I hope you like it ok. Adios amigos!”

Steve would have been on tour at this time, but had had to move all of his touring into 2021 because of the pandemic, and he is definitely missing his audiences.

01. Love & Peace
02. Regular Man
03. I Will Do for You
04. Clock Is Running
05. Carni Days
06. Church of Me
07. Toes in the Mud
08. My Woman
09. Ain’t Nothin’ Like the Boogie
10. Travelling Man
11. Ready or Not
12. Mercy

Website: Seasick Steve