Rhiannon Giddens – You’re The One


Rhiannon Giddens - You're the One

Rhiannon Giddens – You’re The One
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Nonesuch
Release: 2023

Release date: August 18, 2023

The newest album from Rhiannon Giddens’, ‘You’re the One’ is her third solo studio album and her first of all original songs. This collection of 12 songs written over the course of Giddens’ career bursts with life-affirming energy, drawing from the folk music that she knows so deeply, as well as its pop descendants.

Produced by Jack Splash (Solange, Alicia Keys, Valerie June), You’re the One features some of Giddens’ closest musical collaborators from the past decade, including multi-instrumentalists Francesco Turrisi and Dirk Powell, bassist Jason Sypher, and Congolese guitarist Niwel Tsumbu.

The album features electric and upright bass, conga, Cajun and Piano accordions, guitars, a Western string section, and Miami horns, among other instruments, capturing the inclusive spirit that channels through all of her work.

“I hope that people just hear American music,” Giddens says. “Blues, jazz, Cajun, country, gospel, and rock—it’s all there. I like to be where it meets organically. They’re fun songs, and I wanted them to have as much of a chance as they could to reach people who might dig them but don’t know anything about what I do. If they’re introduced to me through this record, they might go listen to other music I’ve made with a different set of ears.”

Website: https://shop.rhiannongiddens.com/

01. Too Little, Too Late, Too Bad
02. You’re the One
03. Yet to Be (feat. Jason Isbell)
04. Wrong Kind of Right
05. Another Wasted Life
06. You Louisiana Man
07. If You Don’t Know How Sweet It Is
08. Hen in the Foxhouse
09. Who Are You Dreaming Of
10. You Put the Sugar in My Bowl
11. Way Over Yonder
12. Good Ol’ Cider