Outlanders – Outlanders


Outlanders - Outlanders

Outlanders – Outlanders
Format: CD
Label: V2 Records
Release: 2023

Release date: June 23, 2023

OUTLANDERS is a project by Finnish soprano legend Tarja Turunen and EDM pioneer Torsten Stenzel. They worked on the album for over 10 years and had support from some of the most influential guitarists of our time.

Each song features a special guitarist as a guest including Al Di Meola, Trevor Rabin, Joe Satriani, Jennifer Batten, Steve Rothery, Mike Oldfield, Walter Giardino, Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal, Vernon Reid and Marty Friedman. 7 tracks have already been pre-released digitally and now the long-awaited album will be released on June 23rd on CD and “blue curacao” 2 Vinyl Limited Edition.

OUTLANDERS has succeeded in creating something exciting and new: the music combines relaxed but exciting electronic beats with Tarja’s emotional, classically trained voice and unique guitar performances. These three elements are a constant throughout the album with equal importance in all songs. The sound is mysterious, gentle and yet powerful, catchy and dreamy, modern and classic at the same time. The music contains opposites that attract each other in a magical way. So what genre is OUTLANDERS? The answer is simple: it is a music genre on its own as classifying OUTLANDERS as any existing genre will just fail. Tarja’s vision of OUTLANDERS is to create something different.

Recorded and mixed mainly on the Caribbean island of Antigua during the last 10 years, the sounds of OUTLANDERS is mystic; soft and powerful; catchy and dreamy; modern but vintage at the same time. Their music contains opposites that attract each other and the three aesthetic pillar elements unite to create one unique sound.

Website: https://tarjaturunen.com/home-tarja/

01. Outlanders (feat. Walter Giardino)
02. Closer To The Sky (feat. Trevor Rabin)
03. The Cruellest Goodbye (feat. Al Di Meola)
04. World In My Eyes (feat. Vernon Reid)
05. Mystique Voyage (feat. Steve Rothery)
06. The Sleeping Indian (feat. Joe Satriani)
07. Land of Sea and Sun (feat. Marty Friedman)
08. 1971 (feat. Walter Giardino)
09. We Own This Sky (feat. Ron “Bumblefoot” Thal)
10. Never Too Far (feat. Mike Oldfield)
11. Echoes (feat. Jennifer Batten)
12. A Peaceful Place (Return To The Oasis) (feat. Walter Giardino)