Matthew Chaffey – Hotel Texas


Matthew Chaffey - Hotel Texas

Matthew Chaffey – Hotel Texas
Format: CD
Label: Gypsy Soul Records
Release: 2024

Release date: March 29, 2024

Matthew Chaffey, the charismatic frontman hailing from Ottawa, stands as a cornerstone of the city’s music scene. A founding member of locally acclaimed bands such as The Split and the Brothers Chaffey, his musical journey spans over two decades of writing, recording, and enthralling audiences across North America. With a repertoire that includes collaborations with Juno and Grammy-winning artists and performances on innumerable stages, Matthew’s musical prowess knows no bounds.

Now, embarking on a new chapter, Matthew Chaffey unveils his latest venture under his own name, marking a significant milestone in his illustrious career. His newest release, “Hotel Texas,” recorded in the heart of Austin, Texas, under the guidance of acclaimed producer Kaz Kazanoff, showcases Matthew’s evolution as an artist.

Backed by an ensemble of seasoned musicians, including the Texas Horns, Red Young (Linda Rondstadt), Brannen Temple (Gary Clarke Jr.), Anders Drerup (Big Sugar), and Chris Maresh (Bonnie Raitt), the album is a testament to Matthew’s unwavering commitment to his craft.

At the heart of “Hotel Texas” lies a profound sense of soulfulness, echoing the essence of Matthew’s musical journey. The lead single, “Paper Shoes,” resonates with poignant lyrics that reflect Matthew’s introspective storytelling. With lines like “A man ain’t no man at all, If he has no meaning and no call,” the song encapsulates the depth and sincerity that defines Matthew’s artistic expression.

Driven by genuine camaraderie and a shared passion for music, “Hotel Texas” embodies the collaborative spirit that has been integral to Matthew’s musical odyssey. Every track is imbued with authenticity, stemming directly from the heart of its creator. As Matthew Chaffey ventures into this new chapter, his latest release stands as a testament to his enduring dedication to the craft and his ability to captivate audiences with his soul-stirring melodies.


01. Paper Shoes
02. It Rains Forever
03. Monday To Tuesday Woman
04. Candi
05. Like I Used To
06. Waiting On You

Matthew Chaffey
credits: Scott Doubt