JD Simo Trio – Songs From The House Of Grease


JD Simo - Songs from the House of Grease

JD Simo Trio – Songs From The House Of Grease
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Crows Feet Records Inc.
Release: 2023

Release date: January 13, 2023

Singer-songwriter JD Simo will release his new album, ‘Songs From The House Of Grease,’ on 13th January 2023. Recorded with his trio (completed by drummer Adam Abrashoff and bassist Todd Bolden), JD has previously stated that “this album is a live snapshot of me and the fellas playing some favourite tracks that hadn’t been captured yet on record. I couldn’t be prouder of this, as it honestly captures my best playing ever!”

Containing five songs with a total running time of 40 minutes, it includes covers of John Coltrane‘s Afro Blue’, Blind Alfred Reed’s ‘How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live and Mississippi Fred McDowell‘s Mortgage on My Soul, plus a free jazz take on Simo’s own Higher Plane (from his self-titled 2020 solo record) and a brand new Meters inspired cut entitled Missy’s Strut.

Mortgage On My Soul was released as the first single from the record in September. Discussing his incendiary version of the classic hill country blues song, JD explains: “I just really dug the words and I also love the hypnotic vibe of his style. Over the course of a few months we started doing it during soundchecks and Adam came up with this killer Afrobeat style groove. It’s also a really good showcase for my slide playing and is such a blast to play.”

Website: https://simo.fm/

01. Mortgage On My Soul
02. Afro Blue
03. Missy’s Strut
04. How Can A Poor Man Stand Such Times And Live
05. Higher Plane Pt 1 & 2