Maceo Parker – Soul Food – Cooking with Maceo
Format: CD – LP
Label: Mascot Label Group
Release: 26 juni 2020

The legendary Maceo Parker annouces the inaugural album of The Funk Garage

Funk legend Maceo Parker is to release his first new studio album in 8 years. ‘Soul Food – Cooking with Maceo’ will be released on 26 June and will be the first album on the Mascot Label Group new imprint, The Funk Garage.

It is almost impossible to separate which came first, Maceo or the funk. He has played with each and every leader of funk, starting with James Brown throughout the 1960s and beyond, then jumping aboard Mothership Connection with Parliament-Funkadelic, as well as a decade long collaboration with Prince.

‘Soul Food – Cooking with Maceo’ blends raw, old school funk with the flavours of the New Orleans school of music. The funky flavour of the city weaves its way through the album as Maceo and the band take on iconic songs of the Mississippi masters such as Dr. John, The Meters and Allen Toussaint as well as takes on Aretha Franklin, Prince and Maceo’s long-time hero and Ray Charles saxophonist, David “Fathead” Newman.


01. Cross The Track
02. Just Kissed My Baby
03. Yes We Can Can
04. M A C E O
05. Hard Times
06. Rock Steady
07. Compared To What
08. Right Place Wrong Time
09. Other Side Of The Pillow
10. Grazing In The Grass

Website: Maceo Parker

Click on the image to pre-order the album from the MLG store.