Johnny Never


New and Used Vintage Blues

Johnny Never is referred to by blues enthusiasts as “the real deal”. Johnny’s music is informed by, but he does not mimic, original acoustic blues greats like Son House, Robert Johnson, and Charlie Patton. He has performed in blues and folk festivals, bars and music halls, from Mem­ phis to New York. His original compositions possess the qualities of the genuine article delivered through deft fin­ ger-style guitar work and a voice that rings with authenticity.

“It’s rare these days to hear that (Delta blues) music played and your performance moved me emotionally. You are the real deal!– Barry Pugh, President, Central Delaware Blues Society, Roadhouse Blues Festival.

Johnny Never has crawled into the skin of acoustic blues greats from the Piedmont to the Delta... he is the spiritual son of many names both famous and long forgotten.

Jamey Reilly, Jamey’s House Of Music, Landsdowne,

Blue Delta – 8 original tracks and 5 covers, highlights Johnny’s acoustic finger-style guitar, his powerful con­ nection to roots blues and his creative verve, delivering a wide range of authentic blues sounds.

Tracks: Blue Delta Blues is an homage to the Delta Blues but played in a Piedmont finger-style. Last Fair Deal swerves to the sounds of early 2oth century New Orleans Rag. Black Smart Phone is a playful re-write of Black Cat Bone. Johnny’s version of Death Letter is a positively haunting Delta moan. Shake It Up and Boogie swings like early Big Joe Williams. Canned Heat is a solo cover, honest and straightforward with beautiful guitar work. Falls off the Bone is a blues composed in 7/8. It highlights some of Johnny’s most creative musical in­ stincts. His version of 44 Blues, with just harp and guitar, avoids the shadow of more famous versions of Roosevelt Sykes’ often recorded tune. Witherin’ Heat pays homage to summer without air conditioning. Whiskey Glass , an original gem, is a powerful minor song and is the most re­ quested song by fans. Dark Night Blues is a folk blues that speaks to current affairs and institutional propaganda masquerading as news. Big Bill Broonzey’s Hey Hey gets a refreshing makeover featuring a trio of guitar, upright, and drums. Blue Eyed Girl rounds out the album as a deep Roots Delta song written about love lost to idealized desires that can never be realized.

01. Blue Delta Blues• J. Never
02. Last Fair Deal • R. Johnson
03. Black Smart Phone •J. Never
04. Death Letter •E. House
05. Shake It Up and Boogie• J. Never
06. Canned Heat• T.Johnson
07. Falls Off The Bone (The Blues In 718) •J.Never
08. 44Blues •R. Sykes
09. Witherin’ Heat Blues •J. Never
10. Whiskey Glass •J. Never
11. Dark Night Blues (Murdoch Blues)• J. Never
12. Hey Hey• W. Broonzy
13. Blue Eyed Girl• J. Never

Produced by Johnny Never and Peter Richan Original songs written by Johnny Never, BMI

Musical Guests:
John Colgan-Davis – Harp
Dave Young – Bass
Paul Patchel – Percusion
KenPendergast – Bass
Mark Shustak – Percussion
Mac Given – Clarinet
Back-up vocalists are Holly Hoffman and Shannon Davidson