Joan Osborne – Trouble and Strife
Format: CD – Vinyl
Label: Thirty Tigers – Womanly Hips
Release: 2020

Acclaimed singer-songwriter Joan Osborne’s new album ‘Trouble and Strife’ is her first album of original material in six years. ‘Trouble and Strife’ finds the gifted vocalist offering a strong yet uplifting response to some of the socio-political issues plaguing the USA over the last several years. Osborne beautifully balances the weight of her messages with solace and optimism.

On her tenth studio album Osborne has issued a clarion call. With stunning vocals, a diverse range of sonics and incisive lyrics, this deeply engaging collection of new original songs is her response to “the crazy, chaotic times we’re living in,” she says, and “a recognition of the important role music has to play in this moment. Music has a unique ability to re-energize people and allow us to continue to hang on to that sense of joy of being alive.”

Since she broke through 25 years ago with the multi-platinum ‘Relish’ and its touchstone mega-smash ‘One of Us,’ the seven-time Grammy nominee has never played it safe. Osborne has followed her restless musical heart, exploring a diverse range of genres: pop rock, soul, R&B, blues, roots rock, gospel, funk, and country – all of which can be heard on ‘Trouble and Strife’, along with the Western side of C&W and a touch of glam and disco. “For a lot of the record, we were going for a ‘70s AM radio vibe,” says Osborne.  As for the lyrics, the songs “are the most political I’ve ever written,” she conveys of her first album of originals since 2014’s confessional ‘Love and Hate’.


01. Take It Any Way I Can Get It
02. What’s That You Say
03. Hands Off
04. Never Get Tired (Of Loving You)
05. Trouble and Strife
06. Whole Wide World
07. Meat and Potatoes
08. Boy Dontcha Know
09. That Was a Lie
10. Panama

Website: Joan Osborne