Greyhounds – Primates
Format: CD – Vinyl – Digital
Label: Nine Mile Records / Bertus
Releasedatum: 10 juli 2020

At the dawning of a new decade, Austin band Greyhounds (the duo of Andrew Trube and Anthony Farrell) are set to release their new album ‘Primates’,marking the 2Oth year oftheir brotherhood.
‘Primates’ is a dialect of the human soul – a musical language that reaches across all borders, beyond all differences – to address personal relationships, class struggles, culture wars, and the disconnectedness of modern living. Trube and Farrell conjure vibrations of those who have come before, while remaining aware and inspired of what the future will bring.
‘Primates’ is also the first Greyhounds record to use an outside producer, and to be tracked at their new East Austin studio Bud’s Recording services.
“We’ve always produced our own records,” says vocalist/keyboardist Anthony Farrell. “But we knew we needed to stretch our sound on this record to reflect the scope of what we are trying to say.
We brought in producer/multi-instrumentalist
Steve Berlin (Los Lobos, Flesh Eaters, Deer Tick). We’ve known Steve for a long time, but it can be difficult to let go of your control in creative endevors. However, our immense respect for him as a musician, as well as a human-being, made it easy to trust him. He opened up a lot of musical doors that we didn’t know existed. Plus he gave us a thorough education in Mezcal!”

For his part, Berlin returned the appreciation: “There’s a very short list of bands who can combine intelligence, virtuosity, respect for tradition, and a sense of humor with incredible vocals and socially conscious songwriting. In my opinion, it’s actually a list of one: the Greyhounds!”

‘Primates’ comes out worldwide on May 1 on award-winning Austin record label Nine Mile Records. The first single – “Tune In” – will be released on March 13, The band will be showcasing at the SXSW Music Festival in March, followed by extensive tours on the U.S. and Europe this Spring and Summer.
“Greyhounds make music real music, the right way, for all the right reasons.” – Derek Trucks
“(Their music) is somewhere between a heartfelt hymn and the dirtiest jank you’ve ever heard.” – JJ Grey

01. Tune In
02. Stay Here Tonight
03. People In The Park
04. Nobody’s Judging
05. Pick Up The Phone
06. Bet It All On Love
07. Primates
08. Long Goodbye
09. This I Know
10. Omon’i