Drive-By Truckers – The Unraveling
Format: CD – LP
Label: ATO Records
Releasedatum: 31 januari 2020
Drive-By Truckers‘ 12th studio album and first new release in more than three years, just in time for 2020 election season, ‘The Unraveling” was recorded at the legendary Sam Phillips Recording Service in Memphis by Grammy Award-winning engineer Matt Ross-Spang (Jason lsbell, Margo Price) and longtime DBT producer David Barbe.
Cofounding singer/songwriter/guitarists Mike Cooley and Patterson Hood both spent much of the time prior doing battle with deep pools of writer’s block.
“How do you put these day to day things we’re all living through into the form of a song that-we{much less anybody else) would ever want to listen to?” says Hood. “How do you write about the daily absurdities when you can’t even wrap your head around them in the first place?
I think our response was to focus at the core emotional level. More heart and less cerebral perhaps. The past three-and-a-half years were among the most tumultuous our country has ever seen. And the duality between the generally positive state of affairs within our band while watching so many things we care about being decimated and destroyed all around us informed the writing of this album to the core. While a quick glance might imply that we’re picking up where 2016’s “American Band” album left off, the differences are as telling as the similarities.
lf the last one was a warning shot hinting at a coming storm, this one was written in the wreckage and aftermath. l’ve always said that all our records are political, but l’ve also said that’politics ls personal’.
With that in mind, this album is especially personal.” The songs that eventually emerged are among Drive-By Truckers’ most direct and pointedly provocative, tackling the myriad horrors of our new normal through sincere emotion and unbridled heart. The remarkable songcraft found on “The Unraveling” receives much of its musical muscle from the sheer strength of the current Drive-By Truckers line-up, with Hood and Cooley joined by bassist Matt Patton, keyboardist/multi-instrumentalist Jay Gonzalez and drummer Brad Morgan; together, the longest-lastinB iteration in the band’s almost 25-year history.
The album also features a number of special guests, including The Shins’ Patti King, violinist/string arranger Kyleen King (Brandi Carlile) and North Mississippi All-Stars’ Cody Dickinson on electric washboard.
Hailed as ‘perhaps the greatest current American Southern rock and roll band’ and ‘one of the best alternative country rock acts ever’, Drive-By Truckers will mark “The Unraveling” with an epic world tour.

01. Rosemary With A Bible And A Gun
02. Armageddon’s Back ln Town
03. Slow Ride Argument
04. Thoughts And Prayers
05. 21’t Century USA
06. Heroin Again
07. Babies ln Cages
08. Grievance Merchants
09. Awaiting Resurrection
Website: Drive-By Truckers