Ben Levin – Carryout Or Delivery
Format: CD
Label: VizzTone Label Group
Release: 2020

VizzTone is proud to announce the October 9, 2020 release of Ben Levin’s sophomore album, ‘Carryout Or Delivery’

“Ben Levin, a gifted young man with an old soul, is quickly becoming the standard bearer for a new generation of urban piano players. Just 21 and still in college, Ben’s already proven himself to be a world-class talent.

His previous VizzTone album, ‘Before Me‘, brought Ben’s authentic blues piano and soulful vocals to the world and paved the way for Ben’s nomination for a 2020 Blues Music Award for Best Emerging Artist Album.

Recorded at the height of the COVID-19 crisis, ‘Carryout Or Delivery’ proves once again that Ben’s ceiling is unlimited. Backed by his father/regular bandmate Aron Levin on guitar, drummer Oscar Bernal and bassist Chris Douglas, Ben’s a two-fisted terror on piano and organ.

This album features a set of eight timely originals and four tasty covers. The maturity and skill he displays here are just a hint of what’s ahead.”

    — Marty Gunther (senior writer, Blues Blast Magazine)


The first single, “Stuck”, dropping August 26, 2020, tells the story of a young man’s frustration in a time of isolation. It’s a one-chord vamp over a fatback beat, punctuated by piano, guitar and slap bass, eventually evolving into a Howlin’ Wolf moan.

“Some Other Time”, dropping September 9, 2020, is the second single from 21 year old pianist/vocalist Ben Levin. The song shows another side of Ben, stretching into soul-blues. Ben moves to an early 1960s Wurlitzer electric piano and shows his versatility as a songwriter and vocalist on this new R&B ballad. Clear inspirations include Robert Ward and James Hunter. “Some Other Time” captures the emotional pain a relationship can have on a young man.

Ben is currently nominated for a 2020 Blues Blast Music Award, in the Sean Costello Rising Star category.

01. You Know
02. Stuck
03. Too Good For Me
04. Carryout Or Delivery
05. Have You Lost Your Mind?
06. Some Other Time
07. NOLA Night
08. My Back Scratcher
09. Papercut
10. The Buzzard
11. Hadacol Bounce
12. Time Brings About A Change

Website: Ben Levin