American Aquarium – Lamentations
Format: CD – LP – Digital
Label: New West Records
Releasedatum: 1 mei 2020

“Lamentations is a 10-song rumination on the current state of the world around me. I was raised in the faith and the book of Lamentations was always one that caught my attention. A broken man crying out to the heavens, asking why God sat back and let his country fall apart.
Questioning the sheer existence of a higher power in the lowest of times. How could an all loving God sit back and let an entire nation’s cry for help go unanswered? I saw many parallels in that story and the current climate of this country in 2020. There are a large group of people who were promised something in 2016. They are still waiting for those promises to be fulfilled. This is a record about the things that break people. Religion, politics, addiction, love, money, family, history. I believe it is an empathetic look at the other side.
A group of stories about losing everything and still finding the will to stand back up and fight for the things that matter the most.”

American Aquarium is:
BJ Barham – acoustic guitar, vocals
Shane Boeker – electric guitar, acoustic guitar, vocals
Rhett Huffman – b3, piano, wurlitzer, clavinet, celeste, harmonium, jupiter 8, minimoog, arp omni, vocals
Neil Jones – pedal steel guitar
Ryan Van Fleet – drums, percussion
Alden Hedges – bass guitar, vocals

With very special guests:
Matt Douglas – saxophone
The Watson Twins – vocals
Jamie Lin Wilson – vocals

30.09 – TivoliVredenburg, Utrecht
09.10 – Victorie, Alkmaar
10.10 – Oosterpoort, Groningen

Photo Credits: Cal Quinn