Ad Vanderveen – Release


Ad Vanderveen - Release

Ad Vanderveen – Release
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Independent
Release: 2021
Release date: May 18, 2021

Amsterdam-based contemporary folk singer-songwriter Ad Vanderveen has announced his upcoming album entitled ‘Release’, due May 18 on all platforms.

Emotive vocals, relatable lyricism and well-crafted arrangements make up this new collection from the soul-searching songwriting veteran.

About ‘Release’:
The latest album ‘Release’ contains ten new original songs in an organic production – not stripped down like the predecessor ‘Treasure Keepers’ – but stil built around a basis of vocal and acoustic guitar, accompanied by a sparse but effective rhythm section of drums and bass, electric (slide) guitar, piano, banjo, and adorned with string arrangements and harmony vocals.

Early reactions from connoisseurs say the record is characterized by “very purposeful and poetic, relatable lyrics”, and “really deep songs with a lot of musical variety”.

The musical style echoes roots and influences from the 1970s – Neil Young, Bob Dylan, John Lennon, Townes van Zandt and other Texas troubadours come to mind.

The lyrical content touches on themes any grown-up could relate to, like perspectives on transience, love, life and loss, social engagement and personal growth.

‘Release’ will be streaming on all digital platforms and CD’s will be available in May 2021 via

AV: vocal, guitars, piano, harmonica
Kersten de Ligny: harmony vocal
Pete Fisher: bass
Michael Kay: drums, percussion
The Neil James Morrison Ensemble: strings.

Producer Name(s): Pete Fisher, Ad Vanderveen.

01. Release
02. One Last Song
03. Always The Next
04. Dared To Dream
05. Wildfire
06. Fickle Mind
07. Nothing But A Dream
08. Garden Of Home
09. Ol’ 56
10. Thank You