The Weight Band – Live is a Carnival
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Continental Record Services
Releasedatum: 10 juli 2020

Keeping the spirit and the music alive that helped define an era, members of The Weight Band were either actual players in The Band, or are directly and deeply connected to their legacy.

Touring nationally for the past four years featuring members of The Band, Rick Danko, Richard Manuel, Garth Hudson and Levon Helm’s band. The Woodstock based Weight Band is not a tribute to The Band but rather a continuation of where The Band and members left off. Members include Jim Weider, Brian Mitchell, Albert Rogers and Michael Bram… Songs were written by The Band, Levon Helm… and Colin Linden.

Summer 2018, “The Weight Band” releases its first full-length, 11-track studio album “World Gone Mad” in Europe. It features eight original tracks, guest vocals and slide guitar from Jackie Greene on a cover of a Jerry Garcia-Robert Hunter song, and writing contributions from the late Levon Helm on previously unreleased songs.

The Weight Band originated in 2013 inside the famed Woodstock, New York barn of Levon Helm when Jim Weider and Randy Ciarlante — both former members of The Band — performed “Songs of The Band” with Band founder, Garth Hudson, alongside Jimmy Vivino and Byron Isaacs.

Inspired to carry on the legacy of the unforgettable rock group, Weider, Ciarlante and Isaacs began performing fan favorites from The Band catalog to audiences across the country, inviting Marty Grebb and Brian Mitchell to complete their sound. The Weight Band later added Albert Rogers, Matt Zeiner and Michael Bram to make up their current line up with Weider and Mitchell.

Live Is A Carnival was recorded January 2020 at the Brooklyn Bowl by The Weight Band’s own sound wizard Mark Rudzinsky and is a great example of the energetic shows by The Weight Band with their clever mix of originals and songs by for instance The Band.  

01. Don’t Do It
02. Kingdom Come
03. Atlantic City
04. Deal
05. World Gone Mad
06. Stagefright
07. Rag Mama Rag
08. Heat Of The Moment
09. Ophelia
10. Big Legged Sadie
11. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down
12. Common Man
13. Life Is A Carnival
14. The Weight

Website: The Weight Band