New Release: The Third Mind – 2


The Third Mind - 2

The Third Mind – 2
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Yep Roc Records – V2 Records
Release: 2023

Release date: October 27, 2023

The Third Mind is: Jesse Sykes, Dave Alvin, Victor Krummenacher (Camper Van Beethoven, Cracker, Monks of Doom), David Immergluck (Counting Crows, Monks of Doom, John Hiatt), and Michael Jerome (Richard Thompson, Better Than Ezra).

Their self-titled debut album was released at the start of the Covid lockdown and still managed to make a splash in the world of psychedelic, jam-band rock. To date, the album has shipped about 2,000 LPs and 4,000 CDs – and this is with zero touring. As an example of the deep connection this group has made with music heads, Terry Currier at Music Millennium had this at #1 on his official year end best of list for 2020. And it seems that word of mouth from tastemakers like Terry is a big part of the reason this album managed to have some legs right out of the gate as the world was closing its doors.

Jesse Sykes is out front managing all the vocals on this album. Part of the move is to establish The Third Mind as a band, not a Dave Alvin side-project. This six-song collection definitely reflects the sound of a group finding its footing on a much anticipated second round in the studio. The set includes covers of “Sally Go Round The Roses,” “Groovin’ is Easy,” “Why Not Your Baby” and more. It also features the original, “Tall Grass,” and runs the length of three LP sides. The fourth side of the LP includes an etching of the Third Mind mandala by Tony Fitzpatrick. The album cover includes artwork from Lou Beach (who did the cover for Dave Alvin’s first solo album).


01. Groovin’ Is Easy
02. Why Not Your Baby
03. In My Own Dream
04. Tall Grass
05. Sally Go Round The Roses
06. A Little Bit Of Rain