New Release: Matthews Southern Comfort – The Woodstock Album


Matthews Southern Comfort - The Woodstock Album

Matthews Southern Comfort – The Woodstock Album (15 Songs of Peace, Love and Understanding)
Format: CD
Label: Must Have Records – Continental Record Services
Release: 2023

Release date: April 28, 2023

Now here’s a cover album with a few interesting angles to it.

First there is the fact that Matthews Southern Comfort have a, let’s call it: Woodstock history. Well over 6 million spotify streams confirm the legendary status of Matthews Southern Comfort’s global hit.

And of course: although this collection is called ‘The Woodstock Album,’ the song itself is not featured on this album as it was written post festival and therefor never performed at Mac Yasgur’s farm.

In 2022 MSC were looking for a way to reactivate the band as a viable and touring unit again. The concept they came up with was a Matthews Southern Comfort re-interpretation of songs that were all performed at the Festival by artists like Joe Cocker, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Jimi Hendrix, John Sebastian and The Grateful Dead.

The songs very much speak for themselves, as do these new versions with a distinct Matthews Southern Comfort signature.


01. With a Little Help From My Friends
02. Bad Moon Rising
03. Purple Haze
04. 4 + 20
05. This Wheel’s On Fire
06. Goin’ Up The Country
07. High Time
08. I-Feel-Like-I’m-Fixin’-To-Die Rag
09. Get Together
10. Evil Ways
11. If I Were a Carpenter
12. Everyday People
13. Spinning Wheel
14. Darlin’ Be Home Soon
15. My Generation