Ghalia Volt – One Woman Band
Format: CD
Label: Ruf Records
Release: 2021

Never underestimate the power of a woman with her back against the wall.

In March 2020, as Covid blew across the planet, the shutters came down on live venues and recording studios, and the music scene fell suddenly silent, Ghalia Volt faced the same dilemma as every other artist. What now? The answer was ‘One Woman Band’.

For Volt, the rebirth as a solo performer wasn’t a decision made lightly. Since the beginning, she’s been a musician who thrives on the buzz of the hook-up, surrounding herself with the best players and soaking up their vibe. In 2017, the Belgium-born songwriter’s taste for collaboration led her to New Orleans for the meeting with local blues legends Mama’s Boys that became her debut album, Let The Demons Out.

Two years later, the same spirit lured Volt to the fabled hill country of Coldwater, Mississippi, to hold her own at sessions with musicians like Cody Dickinson, Cedric Burnside, Lightnin’ Malcolm, and Watermelon Slim.

With the breakout success of 2019’s Mississippi Blend. a record that made the Top 3 in the Billboard Blues Chart on three separate occasions, it seemed the world was Volt’s for the taking — her seven-year transformation from Brussels busker to the adopted daughter of American roots scene. Now, with One Woman Band, the journey takes a thrilling left-turn. and last March, she reconnected with that one-woman philosophy. “I started playing on a real drum kit,” she recalls. “Playing a kick, snare, and hi-hat plus a tambourine with my feet, while playing slide/guitar and singing at the same time.” 

01. Last Minute Packer
02. Espìritu Papàgo
03. Can’t Escape
04. Evil Thoughts
05. Meet Me In My Dreams
06. Reap What You Sow
07. Loving Me Is A Full Time Job
08. It Hurts Me Too
09. It Ain’t Bad
10. Bad Apple
11. Just One More Time

Musicians All songs performed by Ghalia Volt (vocals, guitars, slide, drums)

Special guests:
02. Espìritu Papàgo – Featuring Dean Zucchero on bass
04. Evil Thoughts – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar
11. Just One More Time – Featuring Monster Mike Welch on guitar and Dean Zucchero on bass

Website: Ghalia Volt