Erin Harpe – Meet Me In The Middle
Format: CD
Label: VizzTone Label Group
Release: 2020

‘Meet Me In The Middle’ is second-generation finger-style guitarist and singer Erin Harpe’s fourth VizzTone release, and her sixth release in the blues genre.

Following up a trio of successful albums with her band, Erin Harpe & the Delta Swingers, Erin goes back to her roots in the country blues for this intimate acoustic album, self-produced and recorded in her home studio with husband/bass player Jim Countryman during the pandemic.

Recently named 2019’s New England Blues Artist of the Year, Erin grew up learning finger-style guitar from her dad, Neil Harpe, and piedmont blues luminaries such as John Cephas & Phil Wiggins, John Jackson, and Warner Williams, at Washington DC’s famed Archie’s Barbershop. Erin has been recognized as “the next star in the acoustic blues” by, which recently wrote that “Erin Harpe has it all… the skills as an exceptional guitar fingerpicker, the musical heritage and knowledge, a wonderful voice, great stage presence and star-quality good looks to boot.”

‘Meet Me In The Middle’ was produced by Erin Harpe herself, and it shows off not only her deft fingerpicking and soulful natural vocals skills (which can be a rarity among fingerstyle blues pickers), but it also highlights her growing skills as a songwriter, arranger, and producer (the album marks Erin’s 7th self-produced album).

The album features 10 tracks, including four self-penned songs, and her own interpretations of traditional tunes and songs by blueswomen from Memphis Minnie to Lucille Bogan, with styles ranging from traditional country blues and slide guitar to folk, gospel and Zydeco. The stripped-down record features Erin Harpe on acoustic, slide and 12-string guitars and vocals, as well as kazoo and foot percussion, with ukelele bass and backing vocals provided by partner Jim Countryman, who also acted as co-producer and audio engineer.

01. All Night Long (Original)
02. Hard Luck Woman (Original)
03. Meet Me In The Middle (Original)
04. Women Be Wise (Sippie Wallace)
05. I Hate That Train Called The M&O
06. Rollin and Tumblin (Traditional)
07. Pick Poor Robin Clean (Geeshie Wiley)
08. When I Lay My Burden Down (Traditional)
09. What’s The Matter With The Mill (Memphis Minnie)
10. One Fine Day (Original)

Website: Erin Harpe