Kenny Wayne Shepherd – Dirt On My Diamonds Vol.2


Kenny Wayne Shepherd - Dirt On My Diamonds Vol.2

Kenny Wayne Shepherd – Dirt On My Diamonds Vol.2
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Mascot Label Group – Provogue Records
Release: 2024

Release date: September 20, 2024

Some creative streaks are so hot, they can’t be satisfied by one album alone. In a rare career first for a multi-platinum, Grammy-nominated global superstar who has seen and done it all, Kenny Wayne Shepherd is set to release Part II of his Dirt On My Diamonds vision.

With the acclaimed ‘Dirt On My Diamonds Vol 1’ released only last November, Shepherd’s fans are still poring over that first slug of stellar material (“There’s no denying the impact,” wrote Classic Rock, “when he lets the blues off the leash”). But the Louisiana-born bandleader always had a bigger plan. Holding back a second set of songs birthed at the same writing sessions at FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, Alabama, he now presents a follow-up record that is a very different animal, with shared DNA.

“When I started writing all of these songs, I started to see two individual identities emerge,” explains Shepherd of ‘Dirt On My Diamonds Vol 2,’ released 20th September on Mascot/Provogue Records. “You’ll hear the same spirit across both albums, but the songs, sounds and grooves are very different. Because of the way that people live and consume music now, we decided to stagger the releases – but it’s essentially a double album. We had creative momentum on our side, so we just wanted to keep it rolling.”


01. I Got A Woman
02. The Middle
03. My Guitar Is Crying
04. Long Way Down
05. Never Made It To Memphis
06. Watch You Go
07. Pressure
08. She Loves My Automobile (ZZ Top cover)