The Duke Robillard Band – They Call It Rhythm & Blues


The Duke Robillard Band -They Call It Rhythm & Blues

The Duke Robillard Band – They Call It Rhythm & Blues
Format: CD
Label: Stony Plain Records
Release: 2022

Release date: March 18, 2022

Anyone who knows Duke’s music, will immediately smile at the first few seconds of the opening track Here I’m Is from the new album ‘They Called It Rhythm & Blues,’ available from Stony Plain Records on March 18, 2022.

It’s that joyous jump-blues shuffle sound that Duke has been perfecting since the late 60s. Indeed, every song on this generous 18-song album is about the groove, master musicianship, great understated taste and a perfect band mix that always complements the pulse and the singer. Duke’s guitar is at the centre and brings it all together.

For a lifetime Duke Robillard has been playing the jazzy corners of the blues. He was a founder of Roomful of Blues in the early 1970s, and replaced Jimmy Vaughan in the Fabulous Thunderbirds in the 1990s and was a core member of the New Guitar Summit through the 2000s, in addition to releasing an astounding 37 albums on his own.

He has won the W.C. Handy Award as Best Blues Guitarist an astounding four times, and been nominated for two Best Blues Album Grammy Awards. He is credited with taking the blues to a new level for multiple generations of blues guitarists.

Joining the guitar maestro (who also produced) on ‘They Called It Rhythm & Blues’ is an all-star cast of special guests, including John Hammond, Kim Wilson, Sue Foley, Sugar Ray Norcia, Michelle Willson, Chris Cote, Bruce Bears, Marty Ballou, Mark Teixeira, Doug James, Mike Flanigin, Mark Earley, Doug Woolverton and Matt McCabe.


01. Here I’m Is – Chris Cote – vocal
02. No Good Lover – Duke Robillard – vocal; Sue Foley – vocal and guitar; Mike Flanigin – organ
03. Fools Are Getting Scarcer – Chris Cote – vocal
04. Tell Me Why – Kim Wilson – vocal and harmonica; Matt McCabe – piano
05. Rambler Blues – Sugar Ray Norcia – vocal and harmonica
06. The Way You Do – Chris Cote – vocal
07. Champagne Mind – Michelle Willson – vocal
08. Homeless Blues – John Hammond – vocal and guitar
09. Outta Here – Duke Robillard – vocal, Anita Suhanin – vocals
10. In The Wee Wee Hours – Chris Cote – vocal
11. Someday After Awhile – Chris Cote – vocal
12. She’s My Baby – Sugar Ray Norcia – vocals and harmonica
13. Trouble In Mind – Michelle Willson – vocal
14. No Place To Go – John Hammond – vocal and guitar
15. The Things I Forgot To Do – Kim Wilson – vocal
16. I Can’t Understand It – Chris Cote – vocal
17. Eat Where You Slept Last Night – Duke Robillard – vocal
18. Swingin’ For Four Bills – Duke Robillard, Sue Foley – guitar; Mike Flanigin – organ

The Duke Robillard Band:
Duke Robillard – guitars, vocals
Chris Cote – vocals
Bruce Bears – piano, organ
Marty Ballou – acoustic and electric bass
Mark Teixeira – drums
Doug James – baritone and tenor sax