Samantha Martin & Delta Sugar – The Reckless One
Format: CD
Label: Gypsy Soul Records
Release: 2020

The follow upto 2018’s Juno-nominated Run To Me, ‘The Reckless One’ represents another massive step forward for Samantha Martin as a songwriter,singer,arranger and band leader.
Eleven of the album’s twelve songs were either co-written or solely composed by the multi-facetedartist.The one non- original,a funk infused cover of Bob Dylan’s “Meet Me in the Morning,”fuses Dylan’s lyric in a cataclysmic clash with the sensibilities of the Meters and the hurricane force of Howlin’ Wolf and Tina Turner at their rawest. It simply has to be heard to be believed.

Produced by Darcy Yates and Renan Yildizdogan,’The Reckless One’ demonstrably builds on the strengths of Samantha Martin and Delta Sugar‘s last album. Martin’s lyrics, set to a panoply of intoxicating,earworm melodies,tend to focus on the vicissitudes of love: desire, disappointmen and, when everything works out,emotional and sexual satisfaction.
The album’s twelve tracks cover a lot of ground, including 12/8 gospel infused soulballads suchas “I’ve Got a Feeling” and “Better to Have Never, ”funk inflected tracks like “Love is All Around,”s stomping four-on-the floor dance numbers epitomized by “Don’t Have To Be” and the Wall of Sound influenced “Sacrifice.
”Over the course of the album the discerning listener will detect a panoply of influences ranging from Mavis Staples, Sharon Jones and Otis Redding to Booker T. and the MG’s and the Memphis Horns.
One track,“All That I Am,” is even slightly reminiscent of early 70s Emotions.

01. Love Is All Around – 3:28 (S.Martin/J.Chisholm)
02. Don’t Have to Be – 2:57 (S.Martin,A.Beer-Colacino,A.Warner)
03. Meet Me in the Morning – 3:34 (BobDylan)
04. Loving You Is Easy – 4:25 (S.Martin)
05. One Heart break – 3:36 (S.Martin/R.Yildizdogan)
06. I’ve Got a Feeling – 5:16 (S.Martin/C.Chaffey)
07. Sacrifice  -2:59 (S.Martin/J.Chisholm)
08. So I Always Know – 3:54 (S.Martin/P.Reddick)
09. Pass Me By – 3:20 (S.Martin/C.Chaffey)
10. Better to Have Never – 4:01 (S.Martin)
11. All That I Am – 2:56 (S.Martin/C.Chaffey)
12. Who Do You – 3:07 (S.Martin/C.Chaffey)

The Players:
SHERIE MARSHALL – Backing Vocals
TAFARI ANTHONY – Backing Vocals
DANI NASH – Drum (Tracks2,5,6,8,10)
WILL FISHER – Drums (Tracks3,4,7,9,11,12)
ADAM WARNER – Drums (Track1)
ANDREW MOLJGUN – Rhodes,Wurlitzer,Piano,Vibes,Saxophone
RENAN YILDIZDOGAN – Percussion,VoxContinental,Farfisa,Mellotron,Strings,Vibes
ROSS HAYES CITRULLO – Acoustic Guitar (Tracks4,7),Lead Guitar (Track10)
JEFF HEISHOLT – Hammond Organ (Tracks1,2,3,4,5,6,7,9,10)
JIMMY BOWSKILL – Lead Guitar (Track4),Strings (Track7)
EMILY FERRELL – Trombone (Tracks1,2,5,6,8,10)
TOM RICHARDS – Trombone (Tracks3,4,7,9,11,12)
JAMES RHODES – Trumpet (Tracks3,4,7,9,11,12)
BRIAN WALTERS – Trumpet (Tracks1,2,5,6,8,10)