Review: Sue Foley – Live In Austin Vol. 1


Sue Foley - Live In Austin Vol. 1

Sue Foley – Live In Austin Vol. 1
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital / Label: Guitar Woman Records
Release: 2023

Tekst: Bert van Kessel

On her studio albums multiple blues-awardwinner Sue Foley uses her luscious voice in a perfect balance between sweet innocence and raw seductiveness and she continuously displays her prowess as a texas blues guitar slinger.

This live show, though  has sensuality dripping from every note both in her vocals and her fretwork. It was recorded in a sold-out Continental Club in Austin, Texas in a basic trio setting with Corey Keller on drums and Jon Penner on bass. There are some guest appearances by Austin guitar icon Derek O’Brien.

The lyrics are juicy and explicit, most notably so in Memphis Minnie’s Me and My Chauffeur Blues and her take on the Slim Harpo classic King Bee, called Queen Bee (“I can buzz all night long”). But there are hints of sex all the time, as in Better: I can love you better than any girl can. She proclaims. Her self-penned opener New Used Car immediately makes clear what this album is all about with a straightforward, sensual message. Her solos here are sharp and to the point.

Sue Foley has her feet firmly in Texas blues, Jimmie Vaughan is never far away, but she is not afraid to widen her scope.  Her own Highwayside has a touch of country-rock; Derek O’Brien delivers a dazzling solo with a whole lot of twang. There’s also her convincing take on the folk-rock of Dylan’s Positively 4th Street.

Walkin’ Home is another original, a true blues number characterised by Sue’s spirited vocals and equally passionate fretwork. Howlin’ Wolf’s Howlin’ for My Darlin is delivered with infectious enthusiasm. The album closes with Sue rocking firmly on a surprise cover of  Cheap Trick’s High Roller.

The best news may well be in the album title, The “volume 1”indicates that, fortunately, she has more of this stacked up.

01. Introduction By Steve Wetheimer
02. New Used Car
03. Walkin’ Home
04. Highwayside
05. Howlin For My Darlin
06. Queen Bee
07. Hooked On Love (Aka Lucky Lou)
08. Positively 4Th Street
09. Me And My Chauffer Blues
10. Better
11. High Roller