Review: Lynn Miles – TumbleWeedyWorld


Lynn Miles - TumbleWeedyWorld

Lynn Miles – TumbleWeedyWorld
Format: CD – Digital / Label: True North Records
Release: 2023

Tekst: Bert van Kessel

Lynn Miles is undoubtedly the eminence grise of Canadian roots music. For several decades now she has proved time and again that she is very adept at  writing beautiful songs with a great sense of melody. Her lyrics prove that she’s a keen observer of the world around her. But first and foremost she is a wonderful singer: her captivating voice succeeds in touching the listener all the time.

The intriguing title ‘Tumbleweedyworld’ refers to the lockdowns during covid; streets that used to be bustling were  now empty and it seemed as if tumbleweeds might be flying through them any minute. Lynn looked around and saw a world collapsing with people searching for support. She turned her observations into  ten gripping songs.

Musically, this 16th solo-album, self-penned and self-produced, is definitely her rootsiest to date with  the 10 tracks leaning heavily towards bluegrass; Joey Wright on mandolin and Stuart Rutherford on dobro play important roles. On the true tearjerkers Cold Cold Moon, Palomino and Gold in The Middle James Stephens’ plaintive fiddle adds extra depth to Lynn’s haunting vocals. The moving Moody features fine background vocals by Julie Corrigan and co-producer Dave Dreves. The upbeat All Bitter Never Sweet exudes merriment in spite of its dark theme.

With this superb album Lynn Miles emphasizes her eminence as both a songwriter and a singer.

01. Night Owl
02. Hwy 105
03. Cold Cold Moon
04. Johnny Without June
05. Hide Your Heart
06. Sorry’s Just Not Good Enough
07. Palomino
08. All Bitter Never Sweet
09. Moody
10. Gold in the Middle