New Album North Mississippi Allstars – Set Sail


North Mississippi Allstars - Set Sail

North Mississippi Allstars – Set Sail
Format: CD – LP (April 1, 2022) Digital (Januari 28, 2022)
Label: New West Records – PIAS
Release: 2022

Luther and Cody Dickinson started the North Mississippi Allstars in 1996 as a loose collective of like-minded second-generation musicians who shared a local repertoire and regional style. Over the years the lineup shifted by design, and each NMA record offered up a different combination of collaborators. Set Sail finds the brothers working with Jesse Williams on bass and Lamar Williams Jr. for the first time.

‘Set Sail’, the North Mississippi Allstars’ thirteenth album, follows 2019’s Up and Rolling, which was nominated for a Grammy Award for the Best Contemporary Blues Album in 2021. Set Sail continues the band’s tradition of creating roots music that displays remarkable variety. With their latest record, NMA are able to build upon their self-described sound of Primitive Modernism. A melding of the new and the old, traditional and futuristic, crafted lyrics and improvisational music.

01. Set Sail part I (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr.)
02. Bumpin’
03. See the Moon (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr. and Sharisse Norman)
04. Outside (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr.)
05. Didn’t We Have a Time
06. Never Want To Be Kissed (Featuring William Bell)
07. Set Sail part II (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr.)
08. Juicy Juice
09. Rabbit Foot (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr.)
10. Authentic (Featuring Lamar Williams Jr.)


June 06, 2022 – Amsterdam, Netherlands – Paradiso Noord

North Mississippi Allstars - photo by Jason Thrasher
photo by Jason Thrasher