Van Morrison – What’s It Gonna Take?


Van Morrison - What's It Gonna Take

Van Morrison – What’s It Gonna Take?
Format: CD – Vinyl LP
Label: Virgin
Release: 2022

Release date: May 13, 2022

Van Morrison has announced details of his 43rd studio album, titled What’s It Gonna Take?

New single ‘Pretending’ marks the first track to be released from the project. The gorgeous restless soul track was produced by Van and recorded between Real World Studios (Wiltshire), Bath Spa Hotel (Bath), Richard Dunn’s Studio, Culloden Hotel (Co. Down) Holywood Studio (Co. Down) and Musicbox Studios (Cardiff).

‘What’s It Gonna Take?’ is the follow up to Van Morrison’s 2021 release, the 28-track double album ‘Latest Record Project, Vol. 1.’ It’s further evidence of the rich creative streak that one of the world’s greatest artists is currently on.

The new album features fifteen new Van Morrison compositions that collectively reflect the Belfast native’s drive to record and perform live in front of audiences.

Having been awarded a Brit, an OBE, an Ivor Novello, 6 Grammys, honorary doctorates from Queen’s University Belfast and the University of Ulster, entry into The Rock n Roll Hall of Fame and the French Ordres Des Artes Et Des Lettres; the international reach of Van’s musical art is abundantly clear. In 2016, he was knighted for services to the music industry and to tourism in Northern Ireland.


01. Dangerous
02. What’s It Gonna Take?
03. Fighting Back Is The New Normal
04. Fodder For The Masses
05. Can’t Go On This Way
06. Sometimes It’s Just Blah Blah Blah
07. Money From America
08. Not Seeking Approval
09. Damage And Recovery
10. Nervous Breakdown
11. Absolutely Positively The Most
12. I Ain’t No Celebrity
13. Stage Name
14. Fear And Self-Loathing In Las Vegas
15. Pretending