Van Morrison – New Arrangements And Duets


Van Morrison - New Arrangements and Duets

Van Morrison – New Arrangements and Duets
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Virgin Music
Release: 2024

Release date: September 13, 2024

This album represents a small percentage of the huge amount of unreleased material we are hoping to roll out in the near future, rather than letting it gather dust in some archive

The big band tracks were recorded in 2014 and the duets more recently.

Chris White and Paul Moran individually picked the songs that they wanted to do new band arrangements for. The Willie Nelson and Kurt Elling tracks were recorded in 2018 and 2019, the Curtis Stigers and Joss Stone tracks in 2018. – Van Morrison

Equal parts blue-eyed soul shouter and wild-eyed poet-sorcerer, Van Morrison is among popular music’s true innovators, a restless seeker whose incantatory vocals and alchemical fusion of R&B, jazz, blues, and Celtic folk produced perhaps the most spiritually transcendent body of work in the rock & roll canon. Subject only to the whims of his own muse, his recordings cover extraordinary stylistic ground yet retain a consistency and purity virtually unmatched among his contemporaries, connected by the mythic power of his singular musical vision and his incendiary vocal delivery: spiraling repetitions of wails and whispers that bypass the confines of language to articulate emotional truths far beyond the scope of literal meaning.


01. Ain’t Gonna Moan No More (duet with Kurt Elling)
02. Broken Record (duet with Kurt Elling)
03. Avalon of the Heart
04. Close Enough for Jazz (duet with Curtis Stigers)
05. I’ll Be Your Lover Too
06. Only a Dream
07. So Quiet in Here
08. Someone Like You (duet with Joss Stone)
09. The Beauty of the Days Gone By
10. The Master’s Eyes
11. So Complicated
12. Choppin’ Wood
13. You Gotta Make It Through the World
14. What’s Wrong with This Picture (duet with Willie Nelson)
15. Steal My Heart Away (duet with Willie Nelson)

Van Morrison - New Arrangements and Duets - LP