The Pawn Shop Saints – Weeds


The Pawn Shop Saints - Weeds

The Pawn Shop Saints – Weeds
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Dollyrocker Records
Release: 2023

Release date: July 21, 2023

Based in New England’s secluded Berkshire Hills, Jeb Barry has been the driving force and songwriter behind the Pawn Shop Saints since their inception in 2012. A prolific songwriter, and while grounded in Americana, Jeb Barry has written songs that traverse many genres, and has often been compared to the likes of Steve Earle, Jason Isbell and Townes Van Zandt. Sparse, weary songs from the darker side of life, the Pawn Shop Saints exemplify Americana at its simplest and finest.

‘Weeds,’ their fourth release, is the Pawn Shop Saints ‘folk’ album. Featuring thirteen songs of emotional loss, a little pain, but not necessarily sadness, several of its songs were written in tribute to John Prine. You could call Weeds their pandemic album #3, following Ordinary Folks (2020) and Ride My Galaxy (2022), since much of it is connected to the last couple of years. Most of the songs were written, and many recorded, during 2020-21 and once again, Jeb Barry has crafted 13 mini movies for the mind, as he explores the world during the pandemic and since.

The Pawn Shop Saints fluid line-up is currently Jeb Barry (vocals, guitars, bass, banjo, harmonica, organ) and Josh Pisano (drums, percussion, vocals), with help from Michael O’Neill (guitars, vocals), Tony Pisano (accordion) and Amy Attias (fiddle).


01. Chelsea Off My Mind
02. Weeds
03. Southern Drawl in Heaven
04. Generation Lockdown
05. The Covid Unit*
06. James
07. The War
08. Miss June
09. Preacher
10. Memorial Day
11. Baby Got Drunk
10. Twine
11. All Girls Break Hearts

The Pawn Shop Saints
( photo by Betsy Barry)