The Band Of Heathens – Simple Things


The Band Of Heathens - Simple Things

The Band Of Heathens – Simple Things
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: BOH Records
Release: 2023

Release date: March 17, 2023

With their eighth studio album, ‘Simple Things’, The Band of Heathens came home-geographically, as they returned to their longtime base of Austin for the recording; sonically, in an embrace of the rootsy, guitar-based rock with which they made their name; and thematically, with lyrics that speak to appreciating friends and family and our limited time on this planet.

It’s a confident, assured statement of a group finding its place in the world amid uncertain and troubled times. “It was a return to embracing our influences, our natural instincts, the way we sound when we get on stage,” says guitarist-vocalist Gordy Quist.

With the subject matter, there’s a sentiment of focusing on what’s important as we go through this journey together-don’t waste time, because this is all we’ve got. “Gordy and I each have a natural sound when we sing, but there’s something even more special and unique when our voices blend together” says guitarist-vocalist Ed Jurdi. “So it was just about harnessing and embracing that. Good, mid-tempo rock and roll-that’s our breadbasket, and there’s not a lot of that music being made right now.


01. Don’t Let the Darkness
02. Heartless Year
03. I Got the Time
04. Simple Things
05. Long Lost Son
06. Stormy Weather
07. Single in the Same Summer
08. Damaged Goods
09. The Good Doctor
10. All That Remains