Tapestri – Tell Me World


Tapestri - Tell Me World

Tapestri – Tell Me World
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Shimi Records
Release: 2023

Release date: March 24, 2023

Tapestri, the Folk/Americana band fronted by Lowri Evans and Sarah Zyborska release their eagerly anticipated debut album ‘Tell Me World’

Sarah and Lowri will be especially familiar to Welsh music audiences as bilingual singer-songwriters that have been performing as solo artists for some time.

It took a chance encounter having been booked to play the Welsh Pavilion stage at the 2019 Festival Interceltique de Lorient (Lorient Celtic Festival) in France, for the two to actually meet, which sparked the idea to form a female fronted band showcasing their own brand of folk, roots and Americana, all beautifully knitted together through their innate musicality and heartfelt delivery.

Living at opposite ends of Wales, the two kept their partnership going over the pandemic releasing three singles (Welsh and English language versions of ‘Y Fflam’ / ‘Open Flame’, ‘Arbed dy Gariad’ / ‘Save your Love’ and ‘Atgofion’ / ‘Sweet Memories’) which were all playlisted by BBC Radio Wales and BBC Radio Cymru.

They performed at Focus Wales, Between the Trees Festival and represented Wales in the first ever Global Music Match. In the Summer of 2022 they performed on the main stage at Cambridge Folk Festival after playing only a handful of gigs together. Their handmade limited-edition EP was one of the biggest sellers at the festival and they subsequently played at Greenman, Other Voices, Cwtch Festival as well as two sold out hometown shows last autumn.

Tell Me World is a collection of songs that look at the world from a woman’s perspective, with lyrics reflecting life experiences , infused with insight, empathy and emotion – ‘Waiting in the Background’ tells the story of women patiently biding their time, the complex nature and impact of domestic abuse informs the title track ‘Tell Me World’, re-emerging into the world after the pandemic in ‘Come Alive’, the bittersweet feeling of ‘hiraeth’ (longing) and being far from home in ‘Atgofion’, the allure and the all-consuming nature of being in love in ‘Y Fflam’ and the personal ‘Genes’, inspired by Sarah’s daughter, and ‘She’s a Lover’ inspired by Lowri’s ‘once met never forgotten’ mam!

Website: https://www.tapestrimusic.com/

01. Tell Me World (4:00)
02. Waiting in the Background (3:40)
03. Save Your Love (3:43)
04. Crazy, Crazy Times (4:22)
05. Workshop (4:43)
06. She’s a Lover (3:31)
07. Come Alive (4:28)
08. Y Fflam (2:51)
09. Genes (3:48)
10. Atgofion (3:57)

All songs written by Lowri Evans & Sarah Zyborska except ‘She’s a Lover’, written by Lowri Evans and ‘Genes’, by Sarah Zyborska