Steven Troch Band – The Call


Steven Troch Band - The Call

Steven Troch Band – The Call
Format: CD
Label: Independent
Release: 2022

Release date: April 15, 2022

“The Call” is the third studio album by Steven Troch, and it stands with one foot in the 20th century and the other in the present. Blues is still an important part, but instead of relying on the tried and tested recipe it is liberally sprinkled with other ingredients. Time and again the listener is surprised by changes in timbre, tonality and tempo. The album’s songs are chimeras and half truths waiting for a chance to be told.

A guitar does an assertive shuffle while an expressive harmonica spits fire. The rhythm section has just the right chemistry, and the grooves roll along as reliably as an old Volvo. Troch steers clear of the major themes in his lyrics and sings laconically about everyday stresses and strains to do with adversity, love, bar room philosophy and personal misfortune. The recurring motif in “The Call” is craftsmanship and the joy of playing. Come on! Listen to his call and take a break from the everyday woes.

“The Call” was recorded by Pieterjan Coppejans at Robot Studios in Ghent (Eefje De Visser, Lester’s Blues, Tiny Legs Tim). Most of the material was canned live, and it has that sound and feel to it. The free rein that the band members were given adds to the spirit and passion of the music. Subtle contributions by guest musicians Luk Vermeir (piano), Bart Vervaeck (pedal steel) John Halbleib (trumpet) and Luigi De Gaspari (trombone) nestle comfortably in the whole.

The album was mixed in Greaseland Studios (San Jose, USA) by multiple awardwinning producer Kid Andersen. This was the second collaboration with Andersen, who produced Troch’s debut album “Nice ’n Greasy” in 2016.


Steven Troch: vocals & harmonica (Tiny Legs Tim)
Liesbeth Sprangers: bass & vocals (Herman Brock & The Brockettes)
Matti De Rijcke: guitar & vocals (Les Bandits)
Bernd Coene: drums (Raman, Reena Riot)

Additional Musicians:
Luk Vermeir : Piano, Organ & Mellotron
Bart Vervaeck : Pedal Steel Guitar
Luigi De Gaspari : Trombone
John Halbleib : Trumpet