Michael Jerome Brown – Gettin’ Together


Michael Jerome Brown - Gettin’ Together

Michael Jerome Brown – Gettin’ Together
Format: CD – Digital
Label: Borealis Records – Stony Plain Records
Release: 2023

Release date: May 10, 2023

Three-time Canadian Folk Music Award winner (Traditional Singer, 2015; Solo Artist, 2012 & 2008), Recipient of the Blues With A Feeling Award at the 2020 Maple Blues Awards (with 35 nominations since 1999), five-time Juno Award Nominee in both the Roots/Traditional and Blues categories, Kerrville (Texas) New Folk Finalist – Michael Jerome Browne is a multi-instrumentalist, a songwriter, and a living encyclopedia of American Roots music.

After three years of sporadic performing, Michael is hitting the road again and will be releasing his new album Gettin’ Together in May of 2023. He traveled to different places to record with old and new friends: Harrison Kennedy, Mary Flower, Eric Bibb, John Sebastian, Colin Linden, J.J. Milteau, and many others. Getting together with these great musicians in the studio was highly therapeutic.

Whether he’s gliding a slide across his resonator guitar, creating an intense mood with his tremolo 12-string guitar, or “hammering the claw” on his gourd banjo, Michael’s passion and virtuosity always shine through. In the true tradition of folk music, his performances inspire us to see the interconnections between the many cultures and influences that gave birth to American Roots Music. Gospel, Blues, Old-Time, Country, Soul and Cajun, expect to hear all of this and more from a performer who’s been called a street-smart archivist and an absolute treasure.

Born in South Bend, Indiana, Michael is the son of English professors whose love of music and poetry inspired them to take their nine year old son to the great jazz, blues and folk clubs in their adopted home of Montreal. By the age of fourteen, MJB was already a regular on the vibrant folk and coffee house scene adding banjo, fiddle, and mandolin to his masterful command of all variety of guitars and harmonica.

A musician’s musician, when he isn’t performing his own material he is in demand backing up and recording with other artists, most notably Eric Bibb, whose 2017 Grammy nominated CD “Migration Blues” he co-produced, played and sang on.

Website: https://www.michaeljeromebrowne.com/

01. Monday Morning Blues
02. Shake ’Em On Down
03. I’ve Got The Big River Blues
04. Coffee Blues
05. Ham Hound Crave
06. Please Help
07. Fixin’ To Die Blues
08. Reverend Strut
09. Married Man Blues
10. Black Dog Blues
11. Six Weeks Old Blues
12. Wisecrack
13. Diamond Joe
14. Living With The Blues

Michael Jerome Browne
photo by Steve Gerrard