Mavis Staples – Have A Little Faith – 20th Anniversary (Exclusive Vinyl)


Mavis Staples - Have A Little Faith - 20th Anniversary (Exclusive Vinyl)

Mavis Staples – Have A Little Faith – 20th Anniversary (Exclusive Vinyl)
Format: Vinyl LP
Label: Alligator Records
Release: 2024

Release date: April 20, 2024

“Have A Little Faith was the beginning of my solo career. That’s why I’m here today…Every song on ‘Have A Little Faith’ comes straight from my heart.” – Mavis Staples

On April 20, 2024, Record Store Day, Alligator Records will release the deluxe 20th Anniversary 2-LP vinyl reissue of soul and gospel legend Mavis Staples‘ landmark 2004 release, ‘Have A Little Faith.’ The album, when first released, sparked Mavis’ solo career and launched her into the musical mainstream.

Have A Little Faith is an exhilarating collection of timeless, uplifting songs deeply seated in Mavis’ faith and spirituality. It has now been remastered and will come in a deluxe gatefold jacket with expanded artwork. The set also features a spirited remembrance of how the record came to be by Mavis herself. The two 12-inch records, pressed on silver vinyl, will spin at 45 rpm, and will deliver the best possible sound.

Mavis possesses one of the most recognizable and treasured voices in contemporary music. From her early days sharing lead vocals with her groundbreaking family gospel group, The Staple Singers, to her storied solo recordings, Mavis Staples is an inspirational force in modern popular culture and music.

Mavis Staples - Have A Little Faith (Exclusive Vinyl)

So it was surprising, upon the passing of Mavis’ father — family patriarch and Staple Singers leader Pops Staples — in 2000, that Mavis’ future was uncertain. She self-financed and recorded her own solo album, and after being turned down by major labels unable to see the commercial appeal of this legend’s fresh, genre-busting approach to spiritual music, it was embraced by Alligator Records. The label’s unbridled enthusiasm in working the album to press, radio and the public helped Mavis fulfill her dream and ignite her solo career.

Upon release, Have A Little Faith brought Mavis’ powerful music and message songs into the 21st century. From the positive and uplifting title track to the spiritual fervor of God Is Not Sleeping to the reinterpretations of Staple Singers classics Will The Circle Be Unbroken and A Dying Man’s Plea (with Mavis singing lead on these two songs for the first time), the album re-introduced the world to Mavis Staples.

“I was a Staple Singer,” Mavis remembers in the album’s new liner notes. “I wasn’t no Mavis Staples, the solo artist. But, all of a sudden, I was so busy with interviews and television shows and radio stations and concerts. That was a shock to me, because I started asking myself, ‘Now how long can this last?’ Because they were playing that record everywhere, and the record sounded pretty good!”

Ever since the release of Have A Little Faith, Mavis has been embraced by new generations of fans through her collaborations with the likes of Jeff Tweedy, Run The Jewels, Neko Case, Ry Cooder, Justin Vernon and many others. On April 18 in Los Angeles, an all-star 85th Birthday Party concert celebration will take place at the YouTube Theatre, featuring some of today’s biggest musical stars, including Chris Stapleton, Hozier, Jackson Browne, Norah Jones, Jeff Tweedy, Black Pumas, Grace Potter, Michael McDonald, Keb’ Mo’, Nathaniel Rateliff, Robert Randolph, Taj Mahal and others. This is a testament to the far-reaching, ongoing influence of Mavis Staples, and the lasting impact and beauty of Have A Little Faith.


01. Step Into The Light
02. Pop’s Recipe
03. Have A Little Faith
04. God Is Not Sleeping
05. A Dying Man’s Plea
06. Ain’t No Better Than You
07. I Wanna Thank You
08. I Still Believe In You
09. At The End Of The Day
10. There’s A Devil On The Loose
11. In Times Like These
12. Will The Circle Be Unbroken

Mavis Staples - Have A Little Faith (Exclusive Vinyl)