Mathias Lattin – Up Next


Mattias Lattin - Up Next

Mathias Lattin – Up Next
Format: CD
Label: VizzTone Label Group
Release: 2023

Release date: October 27, 2023

Quickly emerging young Texas musician Mathias Lattin won 1st place at the 2023 International Blues Challenge in the band category and the Best Guitarist Award at 20 years old. The excitement is spreading rapidly.

A graduate of the acclaimed Kinder High School for Performing and Visual Arts magnet program, Mathias was offered a scholarship at Boston’s Berklee College of Music – but the pandemic quickly scrapped those plans. Mathias came up quickly in the Houston scene, playing Jonn Del Toro Richardson’s blues jams when he was 13, and later joining Keeshea Pratt’s band. Houstonians like Annika Chambers and Shawn Allen served as mentors and inspiration. His training as a jazz guitarist is reflected in his soulful blues, jazz-inflected chords, and funky bass lines. Mathias wrote and produced all the songs on ‘UP NEXT’.

In a recent Living Blues article, Lattin expresses his feeling for the awesome power of music: “Music has literally been able to save people’s lives. The stories that it can tell, the emotions that it can communicate, it’s a powerful thing. It makes us move, It makes us feel. It makes us—for lack of a better term—human. And without that, this world would be a whole different place, a different experience. Without that, it would all be less human, more mechanical.”

This fall Mathias and his band are hitting the road hard in support of the new record. He recently joined Joe Bonamassa’s Keeping the Blues Alive at Sea Cruise as a special guest of Christone “Kingfish” Ingram, performed at the Big Blues Bender in Las Vegas, and he’s psyched for the Telluride Festival and the Legendary Rhythm and Blues Cruise.

The first single from the album, dropping September 15, is “Lose Some Weight,” a driving funky blues with a twist, a diet plan that no girlfriend wants to hear: “Your loving tastes so good / So good I just can’t breathe / I need to lose some weight / So I guess you’ve gotta leave.” Yes, Mathias’s lyrics are as sharp-edged as his guitar playing.


01. Who’s Been Loving On You
02. Lose Some Weight
03. Can’t Stop Feeling
04. You Know This Won’t Do (feat. Kyle Turner)
05. Party
06. You Don’t Love Me No More
07. I Tried So Hard
08. 2nd Degree
09. After Party
10. Lose Some Weight (Live)