Marisa Anderson – Still, Here


Marisa Anderson - Still, Here

Marisa Anderson – Still, Here
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Thrill Jockey Records
Release: 2022

Release date: September 23, 2022

Eminent guitarist Marisa Anderson has announced her new album Still, Here, out on September 23rd, 2022. ‘Still, Here’ follows Anderson’s recent acclaimed collaborations The Quickening with drummer Jim White (The Dirty Three) and Lost Futures with guitarist William Tyler. Along with the album announcement, Anderson has shared the single “Waking,” an achingly beautiful nylon string acoustic guitar piece which showcases Anderson’s immediate and sheer elemental capacity to speak through her instrument.

Marisa Anderson’s lucid, eloquent approach to guitar music and composition has established her as an unparalleled artist and an insightful, coveted collaborator. Anderson’s work draws on a mosaic of folk musics and lives in conversation with myriad musical traditions. Her music is inviting and candid, beckoning the listener into sprawling ecosystems and intimate corners alike, from barren landscapes to verdant thickets, impassioned communal experiences to pensive reclusions. As a master of her instrument, Anderson translates abstractions into undeniably moving music, tracing through traditional folk tunes, imagined Sci-Fi films, and foggy sanctuaries of sound. Still, Here is Anderson at her most direct, laying bare her practice of processing and understanding the world through music and distilling that practice into pieces as expressive as they are transfixing.


01. In Dark Water
02. The Fire This Time
03. The Low Country
04. Night Air
05. Waking
06. The Crack Where the Light Gets In
07. La Llorona
08. Beat the Drum Slowly