Lil’ Jimmy Reed With Ben Levin – Back To Baton Rouge


Lil' Jimmy Reed With Ben Levin - Back To Baton Rouge

Lil’ Jimmy Reed With Ben Levin – Back To Baton Rouge
Format: CD
Label: Nola Blue Records
Release: 2023

Release date: May 19, 2023

Bluesmen Lil’ Jimmy Reed and Ben Levin are kindred spirits at opposite ends of the career spectrum with 23-year-old Levin in the sunrise of his and 85-year-old Reed in his sunset and yet they have discovered a wonderful synergy working together on material they both hold dear – “down home blues.”

Lil’ Jimmy Reed is one of the last original Louisiana bluesmen. Born Leon Atkins in Hardwood, Louisiana in 1938, and growing up across from a Chitlin’ Circuit club, he was exposed to the music of the early blues masters at an early age and cut his teeth on the Baton Rouge music scene soon after his father bought him his first guitar at age 16. He earned his Lil’ Jimmy Reed moniker after being called to fill in for the iconic Jimmy Reed one night, and the rest is history. In addition to being a triple threat on vocals, guitar, and harmonica, he is also a veteran, having served 20 years in the U.S. military. Since returning to civilian life, his career has blossomed. Lil’ Jimmy has shared the stage with B.B. King and Bobby “Blue” Bland, and headlined festivals across Europe (Belgium, Holland), Sweden, UK, Israel, and Russia. Lil’ Jimmy now resides in Alabama.

Album producer and collaborator, Ben Levin, is a 23-year-old blues pianist/vocalist from Cincinnati, OH. Levin started playing professionally at age 11 and now plays 100+ gigs a year, both domestic and abroad, while attending the University of Cincinnati (graduated 2023). In 2018 the Ben Levin Duo reached the semi-finals in the International Blues Challenge in Memphis. Levin is a two-time Blues Music Award nominee (Instrumentalist – Pinetop Perkins Piano Player) with four albums under his belt.


01. Down in Virginia
02. They Call Me Lil’ Jimmy
03. Wish You Wouldn’t
04. Cincinnati’s the Place to Be
05. Back to Baton Rouge
06. In the Wee Wee Hours
07. Engine Light
08. I’m the Man Down There
09. A String to Your Heart
10. Mailbox Blues