Lara Price – Half & Half


Lara Price - Half & Half

Lara Price – Half & Half
Format: CD – Vinyl LP – Digital
Label: Gulf Coast Records
Release: 2024

Release date: June 21, 2024

Mike Zito, president of Gulf Coast Records, announces the signing of powerhouse blues and soul singer Lara Price and the upcoming June 21st release of her label debut album, ‘Half & Half,’ on both CD and vinyl formats, with digital pre-orders starting on May 3rd and CD pre-orders now available at

The album’s first single, “We’re Still Friends” (featuring Mike Zito) will be released on May 17, to be followed by “Rain” on June 7th. Now based in Austin, Texas, Lara Price recorded the album partly in Texas and partly in the San Francisco Bay Area, hence its title.

“Half & Half was a way for me to honor the San Francisco Bay Area music family, because without them I wouldn’t be able to keep up in this Austin music scene,” said Lara Price. “The other ‘half’ is a representation of what I have learned so far, as I have soaked up eight years- worth of Austin music. I feel like I am JUST scratching the service as to what the Austin music scene is about and I look forward to putting that experience on my next album. Technically, the album was recorded 60% in Texas 40% in California with 22 musicians and three studios in two states,” she added about the recording sessions.

​“Lara Price has been a fantastic artist for years,” said Mike Zito in announcing her signing. “She’s so deserving of a national audience. Her voice is soulful and righteous and I expect our fans to fall in love with her.”

“I don’t think words can express how excited I am to be joining the GCR family,” stated Lara Price. “The caliber of musicianship on this label is humbling, and I look forward to rising to the level. Thank you, GRC for the much needed wind in my sails. See you at the gig!”


01. We’re Still Friends ft. Mike Zito – Mike Schermer, Felice Garcia
02. Evidence – George Jackson, Raymond Moore
03. Fools Like Me – Jack Clement, Peewee Maddux
04. Things Ain’t Everything – Mike Schermer, Marcia Ball
05. Rain – Lara Price, David Jimenez
06. Days Ago – Lara Price, David Jimenez
07. Solitude – Duke Ellington, Eddie DeLange, Irving Mills
08. The Way Love Goes – Lara Price, Eric Harrison, Mike Ingber
09. Trouble, Heartache, Sadness – Ann Peebles, Don Bryant
10. Heart On A String – George Jackson, Mickey Buckins

Musician Credits:
Drums & Percussion: Clint Simmons (2,4,5,6); Randy Hayes (1,3,9,10); Mike Ingber (8); Kid Andersen (1,6)
Bass: Nick Jay (2,4,5,6); Endre Tarczy (1,3,9,10); Eric Harrison (8); Kid Andersen (6)
Keys: Trevor Nealon (2,4,5,6); Baxter Robertson (1,3,9,10); Kid Andersen (5); Mike Inber (8)
Guitar: Mike Zito (1) Featured Artist; David Jimenez (2,4,5,6); Chris Tondre (2,4,5,8); Mighty Mike Schermer (1,3,9,10); Matt Burger (7); Mike Ingber (8)
Sax: Dr. Matthew Maldonado (2,4)
Back-Up Vocals: Sweet Nectar: Sue McCracklin, Maureen Smith (1,2,4,9,10); Lara Price (8); Lisa Leuschner (1,2,4,9,10)
Kitty Purrr: Jaime Lee Curtis Salgado (5)