Krissy Matthews – Krissy Matthews & Friends


Krissy Matthews & Friends

Krissy Matthews – Krissy Matthews & Friends
Format: CD
Label: Ruf Records
Release: 2024

Release date: May 10, 2024

The sensational and explosive British-Norwegian guitar hero Krissy Matthews is returning to Europe for a 50 date tour this spring with a brand-new band and a masterpiece new album

May 10 sees the brand-new release “Krissy Matthews & Friends”, which, after “Pizza Man Blues” is his second album released with Ruf Records.
It is a monster album which unites the who’s who of the modern blues and rock scene and took Krissy one year to produce!

Friends on the album include rap metal giants Clawfinger, the god of hellfire Arthur Brown, the voice Chris Farlowe, Germany’s soul queen Inga Rumpf, legendary singer songwriter Stoppok, the iconic Hamburg Blues Band, elite drummers Dennis Chambers & Curt Cress, Blues singing dynamite Big Daddy Wilson, guitar heroes Clem Clempson, Siggi Schwarz, Kai Strauss, Miller Anderson, Eric Steckel, Keith Matthews & Danny Bryant, the beautiful voices of Erja Lyytinen, Alice Armstrong, Layla Zoe, Vanja Sky, Heidi Solheim, Kim Jennett, Marlia Rae, Dani Wilde, Whitney Shay & Cherry Lee Mewis, Harmonica royalty Will Wilde, Jimmy Z & Giles Robson and many more talented musicians!

The album includes 24 songs and is almost 3 hours long with a mix of Krissy’s original material and his favourite cover songs. “It was a long time in the making and I managed to get it done. I started the pre-production in November 2022 and went in the studio to begin the meat and potatoes process in January 2023. I wanted to get all my favourite musicians together that I have met on the road in my career. They are not all here by any means, but a good handful are! I did not want this album to have a box, so there are many different genres from metal to blues and jazz to rock’n’roll. But in the end, it is a Krissy Matthews record.”

The first single “QUEEN”, which features the pint-sized powerhouse from Manchester (UK) Kim Jennett, will be released in March. This song is an absolute rock banger!
Shortly after in April, he will release his political statement against the Norwegian government “WHY ARE YOU ASHAMED OF ME?” which features the beautiful and powerful Heidi Solheim from well-known rock band Pristine.

Everywhere Krissy Matthews goes he leaves the crowd in awe. His honest, dynamic and explosive stage show leaves ripples in every venue. Nobody sounds like Krissy, which in today’s world is becoming harder and harder to be identified with your own sound. Krissy shared the stage when he was only 12 years old with the Godfather of British Blues John Mayall, received career advice from BB King when he was 15 and is the last musician to perform in the UK on stage together with the late great Jeff Healey. Krissy Matthews has performed thousands of shows across USA/China/Europe sharing the stage with artists such as Toto, Graveyard, Joe Bonamassa, Gregg Allmann, Tedeschi Trucks Band, Beth Hart and Joe Satriani.

The Norwegian leg of the tour will see him celebrating his blues edge with his Norwegian blues band Krissy Matthews and the Viking Blues Band feat. Kare Amundsen on Drums and Trond Hansen on Bass. They will go up and down and sidewards through Norway tearing rooms apart with the blues.

During the European leg of the tour, Krissy will be joined on some of the shows by amazing guests such as Gerry McAvoy, Gert Lange (Hamburg Blues Band), Malcolm Bruce, Will Wilde, Jess Hayes, Kim Jennett, Marlia Rae, Kai Strauss and Emely Myles.
And in the UK, Krissy will bring his fantastic new trio featuring Polish dynamite Slawek Semeniuk on Bass and the Belgian thunder Gerry Reynders on drums to entertain the British crowds every night.

14 juni 2024: Spirit of 66 in Verviers (B)


01. Queen
02. Ain’t Got No Troubles On The Road
03. Why Are You Ashamed Of Me?
04. Pack It Up
05. Tomorrow’s Blues
06. Rock’n’Roll Hoochie Koo
07. Learn To Live With The Blues
08. Road Angel
09. Try Me Again
10. I’m A Ram
11. The Weight

CD 2
01. Sunshine Of Your Love
02. Broken
03. Twenty Flight Rock
04. Do What I Say
05. Outside Woman Blues
06. Bust A Button
07. Hvorfor Stenger Du For Meg?
08. So Einfach Ist Das
09. I Don’t Know Where My Heart Is
10. Losing My Way
11. Mr Brown’s Blues
12. Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood